Calathea

Calathea is a very decorative houseplant and has a wide variety of different colors and shapes!
Common name : Calathea
Scientific name : Calathea spp.
Family : Marantaceae
Category : Indoor
Type of plant : Perennial
Evergreen
Evergreen
Cold-sensitive
Cold-sensitive
Urban
Urban
Indoor
Indoor
Small pots
Small pots
Calathea is a genus of plants belonging to the family Marantaceae, with several dozen species in this genus. Native to the tropical Americas, many of the species are popular as pot plants due to their decorative leaves and, for some species, colorful inflorescences and all are commonly called calatheas.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_2
Frost-resistance Low
Zone USDA 12a
Height 30 - 100
pH 6 - 7

Identify my calathea

Calathea is a genus of South American tropical perennials with evergreen, rounded, oval or lanceolate foliage perpendicular to the axis of the stem. The flowering is inconspicuous, in clusters of floral tubes. Calathea crocata bears orange flowers.

Plant my calathea

Plant in March your Calathea in a mixture of fibrous soil, dry leaves with a layer of sand at the bottom - no peat, it is a protected resource. Find it a pot of at least three liters with a cup, and place it in a damp, not too bright, between 17 and 21 ° C.

Water my calathea

Calathea loves water, the soil must always be wet, so water it every two days during the growing season. In winter, space the waterings. From time to time, clean the leaves with non-calcareous water, it hinders the red spiders.

Take care of my calathea

In dry weather, spray your plant with water not too hard, clean the dust on the leaves: it will be all the more beautiful and you will protect it from red spiders - its main enemy!

Prune my calathea

Let the yellowed leaves dry naturally before pulling them off.

Fertilize my calathea

In summer, add liquid fertilizer for green plants every 2 weeks. You can also add slow release fertilizer pellets to the soil mix when planting or repotting. Stop all fertilizer treatments at the end of summer.

Repot my calathea

At the end of winter every 2 years, repot your plant in a slightly larger pot, adding compost, sand and dry leaves.

Propagate my calathea

Calathea multiplies by dividing the tuft during repotting. Select vigorous rhizomes with several leaves, cut them away with a clean knife, and transplant in a bucket filled with moisted potting soil. Place the bucket in a clear freezer bags, to keep it moist, in a black room, at 17 ° C, for a week. When the roots appear, plant in the same mixture as that of your stock plant.

Check on my calathea

Check the leaves: if they are yellowing on the back, it is an attack of red spiders, clean with fresh water. If the leaves turn brown, dry out and curl, the air is too dry, or watering is not important enough. If the leaves are paling, your plant receives too much light.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Calathea

L'image représente l'espèce Calathea makoyana. Les Calathea proposent de belles grandes feuilles et certaines espèces offrent une belle floraison en grappes.
Nom commun : Calathea
Nom latin : Calathea spp.
Famille : Marantacées
Catégorie : Intérieur
Type de plante: Vivace
Persistante
Persistante
Frileuse
Frileuse
Balcon
Balcon
Intérieur
Intérieur
Petit pot
Petit pot
La culture du Calathea se fait uniquement en intérieur, dans des conditions très spécifiques, ce qui la rend difficile à entretenir. Cette plante peut toutefois vivre longtemps si elle ne reçoit pas de lumière forte, qu'elle est en situation humide, entre 16 et 21°C en saison, et entre 11 et 16°C l'hiver.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Besoins en eau
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_2
Résistance au gel Faible
Zone USDA 12a
Hauteur à maturité 30 - 100
pH 6 - 7

Identifier mon calathea

Calathea est un genre de vivaces tropicales Sud-Américaines au feuillage persistant, arrondi, ovale ou lancéolé placées perpendiculairement à l'axe de la tige. La floraison est discrète, en grappes de tubes floraux. Calathea crocata porte des fleurs oranges.

Planter mon calathea

Plantez en mars votre Calathea dans un mélange de terreau fibreux, de feuilles sèches et de sable au fond - pas de tourbe, c'est une ressource protégée. Trouvez-lui un pot d'au moins trois litres avec une coupelle, et placez le dans un endroit humide, pas trop lumineux, entre 17 et 21°C.

Arroser mon calathea

Le Calathea aime l'eau, la motte doit être toujours humide, donc arrosez-le tous les deux jours en période de croissance. L'hiver, espacez les arrosages. De temps en temps, nettoyez les feuilles avec une eau non calcaire, çà éloigne les araignées rouges.

Entretenir mon calathea

Par temps sec, n'hésitez pas à vaporiser votre plante avec de l'eau pas trop calcaire, nettoyez la poussière sur les feuilles : il n'en sera que plus beau et vous protégerez ainsi votre yucca des attaques d'araignées rouges.

Tailler mon calathea

Laissez sécher d'elles-mêmes les feuilles jaunies avant de les couper.

Fertiliser mon calathea

En été, faites toutes les 2 semaines un apport d'engrais liquide pour plantes vertes. Vous pouvez également inclure dans le mélange terreux un engrais à libération lente sous forme de petites billes à l'occasion d'un rempotage. Oubliez tout apport dès l'automne.

Rempoter mon calathea

A la sortie de l'hiver tous les 2 ans, rempotez votre calathea dans un pot légèrement plus grand que l'actuel, avec un mélange de sable, feuilles sèches et terreau, ainsi qu'un apport d'engrais lent.

Multiplier mon calathea

Le Calathea se multiplie par division de touffe au moment du rempotage. Sélectionnez des rhizomes vigoureux accompagnés de plusieurs feuilles, coupez-les avec un couteau propre, puis replantez-les en godet emplis de terreau humide. Placez le tout dans des sacs de congélation transparents, pour les garder plus facilement à l'humidité, dans une pièce noire, à 17°C, pendant une semaine. Quand les racines sont formées, plantez-les dans le même mélange que celui de votre pied-mère.

Surveiller mon calathea

Surveillez principalement les feuilles : si elles jaunissent au dos, c'est une attaque d'araignées rouges, à nettoyer à l'eau douce. Si les feuilles brunissent, se dessèchent et se recroquevillent, l'air est trop sec, ou l'arrosage pas assez important. Si les feuilles palissent, votre plante reçoit trop de lumière.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes