Chinese money plant

The most popular species, with its round-shaped funny-looking leaves.
Common name : Chinese money plant
Scientific name : Pilea peperomioïdes
Family : Urticaceae
Category : Indoor
Type of plant : Perennial
The Chinese money plant - or simply Pilea - is the most popular species of Pilea, loved in Scandinavian-styled homes where its bright green pancake-shaped leaves provide an adorable and welcome burst of color against white walls. It's easy to grow and propagate from cuttings !

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_4
Frost-resistance Medium
Zone USDA 10a
Height 15 - 60
pH 6 - 7

Plant my chinese money plant

To choose the location, you need a bright place without too much direct sun - especially that of the afternoon - and away from the radiators. Pileas are small-growing plants, a 3 liters pot is often enough. For planting use potting soil for indoor plant - rather woody so - or a beautiful compost well decomposed and very woody, very draining. It is sometimes advisable to add peat, but it is a nonrenewable resource, so it's up to you ... Beware, the pilea likes moist, do not place them in a draft!

Water my chinese money plant

You should water your pileas twice a week on average, when the upper soil has dried. Of course, you will have to adapt the frequency according to the seasons and water only every 12 days in winter. N.B: The pilea is a neutral to acid soil plant, avoid watering it with tap water, which is usually limestone.

Spray my chinese money plant

In dry weather, spray your plant with soft water, clean the dust on the leaves: it will be all the more beautiful!

Repot my chinese money plant

Every year, in March, change some of the earth of the pot, or find a bigger pot. Use potting soil for indoor plant - rather woody - or a beautiful compost well decomposed an dwoody.

Fertilize my chinese money plant

In summer, pour every 2 weeks a liquid fertilizer for green plants - or a good compost juice diluted to 1/10 if you have some! A slow-release fertilizer is possible ... Stop every fertilizing in the fall, and until the end of the following spring.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Pilea peperomioïdes

L'espèce la plus populaire - avec ses feuilles rondes assez rigolotes au bout de longs pétioles.
Nom commun : Pilea peperomioïdes
Nom latin : Pilea peperomioïdes
Famille : Urticacées
Catégorie : Intérieur
Type de plante: Vivace
Une succulente d'intérieur assez parfaite, connue sous diverses appellations - plante à monnaie chinoise, pancake plant ou plante du missionnaire - qu'il est tellement facile de bouturer pour en offrir à ses amis que ce serait dommage de ne pas en profiter!

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Besoins en eau
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_4
Résistance au gel Moyenne
Zone USDA 10a
Hauteur à maturité 15 - 60
pH 6 - 7

Planter mon pilea

Pour l'emplacement, il vous faut un endroit lumineux sans trop de soleil direct - surtout celui de l'après midi - et à distance des radiateurs. Les pilea sont des plantes à petit développement, un pot de 3 litres leur suffit souvent. A la plantation utilisez du terreau pour plante d'intérieur - plutôt ligneux donc - ou un beau compost bien décomposé très ligneux lui aussi, très drainant. On conseille parfois d'ajouter de la tourbe, mais c'est une ressource non renouvelable, donc à vous de voir... Attention, les pilea aiment les atmosphères humides, ne les placez pas dans un courant d'air !

Arroser mon pilea

Il faut arroser vos pileas en moyenne deux fois par semaine, quand la terre de surface a séché. Bien sûr, vous devrez moduler ces fréquences en fonction des saisons et n'arroser que tous les 12 jours en hiver. N.B : Le pilea est un plante de sol neutre à acide, évitez de l'arroser à l'eau du robinet, qui est généralement calcaire.

Vaporiser mon pilea

Par temps sec, n'hésitez pas à vaporiser votre pilea avec de l'eau pas trop calcaire. Nettoyez la poussière sur les feuilles : il n'en sera que plus beau.

Rempoter mon pilea

Chaque année, en mars changez une partie de la terre du pot, ou trouvez un pot plus grand. Utilisez du terreau pour plante d'intérieur - plutôt ligneux donc - ou un beau compost bien décomposé très ligneux lui aussi, très drainant.

Fertiliser mon pilea

En été, faites toutes les 2 semaines un apport d'engrais liquide pour plantes vertes -ou pas. Un bon jus de compost dilué au 1/10 est recommandé. Si la chimie vous plait, un engrais à libération lente est possible... Oubliez tout apport dès l'automne.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes