Escallonia

Escalonia is a flowering evergreen shrub that comes from the South American littoral regions.
Common name : Escallonia
Scientific name : Escallonia
Family : Escalloniaceae
Category : Shrubs
Type of plant : Perennial
The glazed foliage of the Escallonias makes them popular among gardeners, and so does their resistance to tough weather. This shrub measures between 50 cm and 5 meters depending on the species. It is suitable for areas where temperatures do not fall below -10 ° C, otherwise it will regrow from the stump each year. It is very suitable for dry and drained ground, in full sun. You will appreciate its pink or red flowers arranged in panicles or in terminal clusters.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_5
Frost-resistance Medium
Zone USDA 8a
Height 45 - 500
pH 6 - 8

Identify my escallonia

Escallonias are evergreen shrubs, with an alternate, sometimes verticillate foliage. They are generally 2 to 3 meters high and as wide, but there are dwarf cultivars. The leaves are glazed, dark green, oval. They carry flowers with five petals white or pink, very open cup-shaped, grouped in panicles or clusters.

Plant my escallonia

Plant from late autumn to early spring, in the sun, in drained or dry soil. Make a hole twice as large as the root ball, without mixing the layers of soil - you will put them back in order at planting. Put back some of the bottom soil, and place your Escallonia at the right depth. Do not bury the base of the stems, replace the soil and tamp well around the roots. Add some mature compost at the end of the planting. Form a shallow hollow and water until the water no longer flows visibly, then mulch around the foot.

Water my escallonia

Water thoroughly for the first few weeks after planting!

Prune my escallonia

The trimming of the Escallonia is simple and takes place in March. Slightly trim the ends of the twigs and the lower branches that go too much outward, and that's it.

Mulch my escallonia

Mulch in November each year with deciduous wood chips to protect the soil — especially for the first few years — and limit the need for weeding.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Escallonia

L'Escallonia est un arbuste persistant très florifère qui vient des régions littorales Sud Américaines.
Nom commun : Escallonia
Nom latin : Escallonia
Famille : Escalloniacées
Catégorie : Arbuste
Type de plante: Vivace
Le feuillage vernissé des Escallonias fait leur popularité, ainsi que leur résistance aux embruns. Cet arbuste mesure entre 50 cm et 5 mètres selon l'espèce. Il est plutôt adapté aux régions où les températures ne descendent pas en dessous de -10°C, sinon il doit repartir de la souche chaque année. Il est très adapté aux terrains secs et drainés, en plein soleil. On aime ses fleurs roses ou rouges disposées en panicules ou en grappes terminales. Elles portent souvent 5 pétales disposés en coupe ou en tube. Ces fleurs ont une odeur de miel. Les Escallonias avec leur feuillage dense et persistant sont très utilisés en haies de bord de mer.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Besoins en eau
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_5
Résistance au gel Moyenne
Zone USDA 8a
Hauteur à maturité 45 - 500
pH 6 - 8

Identifier mon escallonia

Les escallonias sont des arbustes à feuillage persistant, alterne, parfois verticillé. Ils mesurent généralement 2 à 3 mètres de hauteur et autant en largeur, mais il existe des cultivars nains. Les feuilles sont vernissées, vert foncé, ovales. Ils portent des fleurs à cinq pétales blanches ou roses, en forme de coupe très ouverte, groupées en panicules ou en grappes.

Planter mon escallonia

Plantez de la fin de l'automne au début du printemps, au soleil, dans un sol drainé voire sec. Peu importe l'acidité du milieu. Faites un trou deux fois plus grand que la motte, sans mélanger les couches du sol - vous les remettrez dans l'ordre à la plantation. Remettez une partie de la terre du fond, et disposez votre Escallonia à la bonne profondeur. N'enterrez pas le collet de la plante, replacez la terre et tassez bien autour des racines au fur et à mesure. Ajoutez un peu de compost mûr en fin de plantation. Formez une cuvette et arrosez jusqu'à ce que l'eau ne s'écoule plus visiblement, puis paillez autour du pied.

Arroser mon escallonia

Arrosez copieusement les premières semaines après la plantation !

Tailler mon escallonia

La taille de l'Escallonia est simple et s'effectue en mars. Taillez légèrement l'extrémité des rameaux et les branches basses qui partent trop vers l'extérieur, et c'est tout.

Pailler mon escallonia

Paillez en novembre chaque année avec du broyat d'arbres caducs pour garder la terre à l'abri - surtout les premières années - et limiter le désherbage.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes