Jostaberry

The jostaberry - Ribes × nidigrolaria - is a complex-cross fruit bush in the genus Ribes, involving three original species, the black currant R. nigrum, the North American coastal black gooseberry R. divaricatum, and the European gooseberry R. uva-crispa.
Common name : Jostaberry
Scientific name : Ribes × nidigrolaria
Family : Grossulariaceae
Category : Fruit plants
Type of plant : Perennial
The plant is thornless and grows to a maximum height of about 2 m, flowering in mid-spring, with fruit setting and ripening on a similar timetable to the blackcurrant. The plant displays hybrid vigor, growing and fruiting well and being resistant to a number of common diseases afflicting other Ribes. In particular the plant is resistant to American gooseberry mildew, blackcurrant leaf spot, white pine blister rust, and big bud gall mite. Flowers are hermaphrodite and the plant is self-fertile following insect pollination. Propagation is usually by cuttings, rather than by seeds. The nearly black berry, which is smaller than a gooseberry and a bit larger than a blackcurrant, is edible both raw and cooked. It is described as having a taste intermediate between a gooseberry and a blackcurrant, with the gooseberry flavor more dominant in the unripe fruit, and the blackcurrant notes developing as the fruit ripens. The ripe fruit will hang on the bush in good condition through late summer, but is very popular with birds. The somewhat unripe fruit can be used in cooking recipes as a gooseberry. Like blackcurrants the fruit freezes well, and like many other members of the genus Ribes it is rich in vitamin C.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Harvestint

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_2
Frost-resistance High
Zone USDA 6a
Height 100 - 200
pH 6 - 7

Plant my jostaberry

You can plant from October to March for suckers in bare roots, and until May for seedlings in containers, but avoid doing it during frost periods. Warning ! You will need several plants to ensure pollination and fruiting, at least two, even of different varieties! The jostaberry likes a sunny exposure but supports the semi-shade, especially if it is leaning against a wall that will shelter it and keep it warm. Itl prefers a slightly acid soil! Remember to weed well before planting, to avoid any risk of competition, especially with weeds and limit invasions and diseases. In a furrow 8 to 10 cm deep, ideally in a north-south oriented line, space each plant 1.5 meters, and also count 1.5 meters between the furrows. Enrich the topsoil with some compost when planting. Warning: do not bury the collar of the plant, it would slow down its growth.

Trellise my jostaberry

Direct the growth of your jostaberries before they become too large, partially to slow their development, which can turn out to be fairly quick, but also to insure optimum fruit production. If you have a full row of raspberries — lucky you ! — plant them in a line marked by small stakes, with wire connected to both sides of the stakes at a height between 40 - 80cm. Leave about 60cm of space between each plant. The jostaberry bushes will grow yet remain contained between the wires, and you'll protect yourself from scratches when you pick them. If you only have one or two plants, you can use stakes to support the stems, but they need to be checked on regularly, even changing the stakes over the course of the season!

Reap my jostaberry

For best flavour, only pick and eat well-ripened fruits. If your harvest is destined to become jam or pies, there's no point in being delicate about it. Pick the fruits in bunches without sorting them out, you'll have lots for the day. You'll be adding sugar when you cook them anyways, so a few under-ripe berries won't be a problem.

Mulch my jostaberry

Mulch in April to maintain humidity. Water thoroughly and cover with a thick layer of mulch. You can use dried grass clippings, wood chips, bark, straw or dead leaves.

Water my jostaberry

Unlike other berry producing plants, jostaberries require quite a bit of water, especially during the first weeks after planting, and during the fruiting period. This need is even greater is they are kept in pots or experience periods of drought. Keep a moist substrate, but most importantly cover the roots with mulch. Depending on the quality of mulch, you may only need to add more on rare occasions.

Prune my jostaberry

Prune your jostaberries towards the end of winter, ideally in February. Temperatures must be kept mild and dry, with no risk of freezing. Prune extensively: first thin out the centre of the plant as light penetration is a key growth factor, and remove any bent or sickly stems. To rejuvenate aging roots, shorten the entire plant by pruning it's height by 1/3.

Propagate my jostaberry

You may carry out a division at the end of winter. Dig up the plant, separate and remove old roots, and keep only the healthiest cuttings. Transplant the cuttings in light, nutrient rich soil — water copiously for a few weeks.

Check on my jostaberry

Jostaberries are quite resistant to diseases. Nevertheless, you might be run into powdery mildew, which appears in felty, white patches on all or part of the plant, especially the leaves. Rust fungus causes orange-brown pustules on the undersides of leaves, and aphids will cause leaves to roll up and lose their original color. Keep an eye out for scale insects too! You may make a stinging nettle fertilizer to cure the effects of powdery mildew — you can even find 100% organic stinging nettle fertilizer in garden stores! Aphids feed primarily on leaves, especially in spring. To fight against aphids, adopt some ladybugs! There are lots of ways to get rid of aphids, so try to avoid the old, harmful method of spraying soapy water on fruit bearing plants.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Casseiller

La casseille ou caseille - contraction de cass-is et gros-eille, Ribes × nidigrolaria - est le fruit du casseillier ou caseillier, un hybride entre le cassissier (ou groseillier noir) et le groseillier à maquereau : Ribes nigrum × Ribes uva-crispa.
Nom commun : Casseiller
Nom latin : Ribes × nidigrolaria
Famille : Grossulariacées
Catégorie : Fruitier
Type de plante: Vivace
L'arbuste ne possède pas d'épines et produit de gros fruits noirs lisses ayant une saveur acide avec un parfum léger. Ses fruits peuvent être utilisés pour la confection de confitures et sorbets. En Suisse, il est aussi appelé josta, contraction des mots allemand (schwarze) johannisbeere (cassis) et stachelbeere (groseille à maquereau), racine que l'on retrouve dans son nom anglais : jostaberry.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Récolte

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Besoins en eau
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_2
Résistance au gel Très bonne
Zone USDA 6a
Hauteur à maturité 100 - 200
pH 6 - 7

Planter mes casseillers

Vous pouvez planter d'octobre à mars pour les drageons en racines nues, et jusqu'en mai pour les plants en conteneurs, mais en évitant au maximum les périodes de gel. Le casseiller aime une exposition en plein soleil mais non brûlante. Il peut éventuellement supporter la mi-ombre, surtout s'il est adossé à un mur qui l'abritera et le maintiendra au chaud. Il préférera un sol riche, et vous le rendra en fruits ! Dans un sillon de 8 à 10 cm de profondeur, enterrez les pousses vertes des jeunes drageons. Plantez idéalement une ligne orientée nord-sud. Espacez chaque plant d'1,5 mètre, et comptez 1,5 mètre également entre les sillons. Amendez le sol lors de la plantation avec du compost. Attention : n'enterrez pas le collet du plant, cela ralentirait sa croissance.

Palisser mes casseillers

Palissez vos casseillers avant qu'ils ne grandissent trop, d'une part pour contenir leur développement, qui peut se révéler assez rapide, mais aussi pour assurer une production de fruits optimale. Si vous avez un rang entier de casseillers - chanceux ! - plantez en ligne des piquets légers, de manière à tendre des fils de fer, à 40 puis à 80 cm de hauteur de part et d'autres de vos plants, écartés d’environ 60 cm. Les casseillers pousseront et resteront contenus entre ces fils, vous évitant de vous griffer lors de la cueillette. Si vous n'avez qu'un plant ou deux, vous pouvez utiliser des tuteurs pour maintenir les tiges, mais il faudra les surveiller régulièrement, voire changer de tuteur en cours de saison !

Récolter mes casseillers

Pour la dégustation, cueillez les fruits bien mûrs uniquement. Pour une récolte destinée à faire confiture et tartes, inutile de faire dans la dentelle, cueillez les fruits par poignée sans faire le tri, vous en auriez pour la journée. Vous ajouterez de toute manière du sucre à la cuisson, donc si quelques fruits ne sont pas mûrs, ce ne sera pas rédhibitoire.

Pailler mes casseillers

Paillez au mois d'avril, pour garder l'humidité. Arrosez copieusement et paillez en couche épaisse. Vous pouvez utiliser les tontes sèches de gazon, des copeaux de bois, des écorces, de la paille, des feuilles mortes.

Arroser mes casseillers

Contrairement à d'autres fruitiers à baies, les casseillers demandent pas mal d'eau, en particulier les premières semaines de leur installation, mais aussi pendant la fructification, et à fortiori s'ils sont gardés en bac ou en cas de forte sécheresse. Maintenez le substrat humide, mais surtout paillez les pieds : selon la qualité du paillage, vous pourriez n'avoir à faire que de très rares apports.

Tailler mes casseillers

Taillez vos casseillers vers la fin de l’hiver, idéalement au mois de février. Le temps doit être plutôt doux et sec, sans risque de gelées. Pratiquez une taille assez sévère : aérez d’abord le centre du massif car la lumière qui y pénètre est déterminante, en supprimant les tiges inclinées ou chétives. Pour rajeunir les pieds vieillissants, raccourcissez tout le massif d'1/3 de sa hauteur.

Multiplier mes casseillers

Vous pouvez procéder à une division en fin d'hiver. Déterrez la souche, et divisez les vieux pieds en ne gardant que les éclats les plus sains. Repiquez ces éclats dans un sol léger et enrichi - et arrosez copieusement pendant quelques semaines.

Surveiller mes casseillers

Le casseiller est globalement assez résistant aux maladies ! Vous pouvez cependant être confronté à l'oïdium - feutrage blanc sur tout ou partie de la plante et notamment sur les feuilles - à la rouille - pustules orange brun sous les feuilles - aux pucerons - les feuilles s’enroulent et perdent leur couleur d’origine - et aux cochenilles. Contre l'oïdium, vous pouvez à titre curatif traiter avec une décoction de purin d'orties : on trouve même aujourd'hui du purin d'orties en jardinerie - 100% bio ! Les pucerons se nourrissent principalement des feuilles, surtout au printemps. Pour lutter contre les pucerons, adoptez quelques coccinelles ! Il existe quantité de moyens de s'en débarrasser, évitez cependant la méthode consistant à vaporiser une solution d'eau savonnée sur les arbres fruitiers.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes