Key lime

Did you know? The name actually derives from its association with the Florida Keys, where it is best known as the flavoring ingredient in Key lime pie.
Common name : Key lime
Scientific name : Citrus aurantiifolia
Family : Rutaceae
Category : Fruit plants
Type of plant : Perennial
Cold-sensitive
Cold-sensitive
Edible
Edible
Flowery
Flowery
Large pot
Large pot
The key lime is a pretty shrub 3 to 5 meters high, producing limes that are valued for their unique flavor compared with other limes. Because of its more tropical origins, it is the most sensitive member of the family, and can suffer from frost under -2 ° C. In tropical and subtropical climate it is covered all year round with small white and red flowers, but in warm Mediterranean climate flowering occurs only in spring and autumn. An important note : the key lime is self-fertile, which means that only one plant is needed to ensure fruiting.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Harvestint

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_4
Frost-resistance Medium
Zone USDA 9b
Height 200 - 500
pH 6.3 - 6.8

Identify my key lime

C. aurantiifolia is a shrubby tree growing up to 5 m (16 ft) with many thorns. The leaves are ovate, 2.5–9 cm (1–3 1⁄2 in) long, resembling orange leaves - the scientific name aurantiifolia refers to this resemblance to the leaves of the orange tree, Citrus aurantium. The flowers are 2.5 cm (1 in) in diameter, yellowish white with a light purple tinge on the margins.

Plant my key lime

Plant your key lime tree in a pot, except in a really mild climate. Choose a large container, preferably made of terracotta with a hole at the bottom to ensure water drainage. Place a thick layer (about 20% of the pot's volume) of gravel or clay pebbles at the bottom of the pot. Make a mixture of good manure, potting soil, compost, and medium grained river sand. Spread a layer of this mixture at the bottom of the post and place your key lime so that the end of the stem slightly exceeds the pot's top as it should never be buried. Fill the empty space with the mixture and tamp it around the plant. Water generously to eliminate any possible air bubbles in the soil. Add more mixture on top if necessary. In open soil, plant the key lime in direct sunlight, sheltered from wind, ideally next to a wall, in light slightly acidic well drained soil. However, never try to cultivate the plant inside an apartment. It cannot handle the heat.

Water my key lime

Did you know this? The key lime has a way to tell you that it's thirsty. Leaves pointed upward signify that it doesn't have enough water. On the other hand, leaves pointed downward means that there's an excess of water! That said, during good weather, an outside potted key lime is subject to a high level of evaporation: it therefore must be watered very regularly during this season for optimal growth. The mixture should never completely dry between two watering in summer, but water should never stagnate in the container. In winter, water even more steadily as long as the tree is bearing fruit — after, you can reduce to just once a month, leaving the substrate slightly dry between two waterings.

Repot my key lime

A potted key lime needs regular provisions to stay in shape! Repot in spring about every 2 to 3 years by changing the substrate as much as possible to a potting soil specially for citrus fruit or planting. Ensure that the bottom of the pot has a hole - add some gravel to the bottom for drainage.

Shelter my key lime

Starting in autumn, bring in the pots. Have your potted key lime spend winter in a bright frost-free spot: the ideal temperature is between 8 and 12°C - definitely not in your living room or else resign yourself to living in these temperatures. During winter, keep watering your tree as long as it is still bearing fruit, then you can space out the watering, letting the substrate dry slightly between them.

Put outside my key lime

Take your potted key lime back outside starting in May. Find it a nice spot in direct sunlight but sheltered from wind, which dries out its leaves.

Protect my key lime

If your key lime is planted in open soil, but you fear a possible frost, don't hesitate to cover its base with a good layer of dead leaves for the harshest weeks. Also wrap the stem in a thick mat (woven bulrush, cane, rye or rice straw...), held by ties. You can also cover the foliage with a wintering cover.

Fertilize my key lime

The lime's love of water accelerates soil leaching: therefore, it really must be fertilized — especially for potted trees! For a plentiful harvest, regularly provide a fertilizer rich in nitrogen and lye — you can find fertilizers appropriate for citrus fruit in stores or try with a compost. In winter, reduce the provisions to once a month. In spring, start back up with a frequency of once every two weeks.

Prune my key lime

Trim your lime tree to encourage more offshoots for a more compact and less spread out habit. For the first years, cut each new stem once the growth is finished — the new leaves will be darker and tougher — leaving it at a length of 20 cm. The lime is pruned once a month from May to September until the tree has taken its shape. Thereafter, only one pruning per year is necessary at the end of winter. Remove dead or diseased branches as well as those that overlap to open up the plant and let light in.

Check on my key lime

Watch over your key lime tree in winter: if the leaves darken, it's a cold spell, and if they lighten, it's a lack of fertilizer! The key lime can also have other troubles: Aphids are seen with the naked eye under the leaves near the veins. Spray the leaves with soapy water or a mixture of water and olive oil which will additionally nourish your plant. Scale insects enclose themselves in a brown shell or under a white coating on the back of the leaf against the main vein and excretes honeydew which will attract fungi. Is the lime foliage faded? Its green is becoming a silver gray? Small spider webs are forming at the ends of the leaves? Your lime has been attacked by red spiders. Between the scale insects and red spiders, you can moisten the foliage as a precaution several times a week with soften and unbleached water.

Mulch my key lime

Native to tropical regions, limes love well drained cool soil. Their roots are mostly superficial, and they don't like the presence of weeds or other plants that compete with them. Mulch to avoid having to weed and to keep the roots cool! Pine needles are perfect for this.

Reap my key lime

The harvest takes place from November to March. Thus, the fruits often ripen inside. Keep the ground slightly damp until you pick the last fruit.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Limettier

Supporter officiel du Mojito (*) (*) à consommer avec modération.
Nom commun : Limettier
Nom latin : Citrus aurantiifolia
Famille : Rutacées
Catégorie : Fruitier
Type de plante: Vivace
Frileuse
Frileuse
Comestible
Comestible
Fleurie
Fleurie
Gros pot
Gros pot
Le limettier est un cousin du citronnier et un très joli arbuste de 3 à 5 mètres de haut, dont on consomme les petits citrons verts, qui en réalité deviennent jaunes si on les laisse aller à maturité! De par ses origines plus tropicales, il est le plus sensible des agrumes, et pourra souffrir dès -2°C. En climat tropical et subtropical il est couvert toute l'année de petites fleurs blanches et rouges, mais en climat méditerranéen chaud la floraison se produit au printemps et à l'automne. Remarque importante : Le limettier est autofertile, ce qui signifie qu'un seul plant suffit pour assurer la fructification.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Récolte

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Besoins en eau
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_4
Résistance au gel Moyenne
Zone USDA 9b
Hauteur à maturité 200 - 500
pH 6.3 - 6.8

Identifier mon limettier

C. aurantiifolia est un arbre à la forme arbustive atteignant 5 m de haut, avec de nombreuses épines. Ses feuilles sont ovales, longues de 2,5 à 9 cm, ressemblant à des feuilles d'oranger - le nom scientifique aurantiifolia fait d'ailleurs référence à cette ressemblance avec les feuilles du bigaradier, l'arbre produisant les oranges amères, Citrus aurantium. Les fleurs ont un diamètre de 2,5 cm, de couleur blanc jaunâtre avec une légère teinte pourpre sur les marges.

Planter mon limettier

Vous planterez le limettier en pot, sauf en climat vraiment doux. Choisissez un grand bac ou un pot de préférence en terre cuite percé en son fond pour assurer une bonne évacuation de l'eau. Placez au fond du pot une épaisse couche de graviers ou de billes d'argile équivalente à environ 20% du volume du pot. Composez un mélange de bon terreau, de compost et de sable de rivière de granulométrie moyenne. Étalez une couche de ce mélange au fond du pot et placez-y votre limettier de manière à ce que le point de greffe dépasse légèrement de la surface du pot car il ne devra jamais être enterré. Comblez les espaces vacants avec le mélange et tassez autour du pied. Arrosez copieusement pour éliminer les éventuelles bulles d'air dans la terre. Rajoutez du mélange si nécessaire en surface. En pleine terre, plantez le limettier en plein soleil, à l'abri du vent, idéalement contre un mur, dans un sol léger, un peu acide et bien drainé. Par contre, n'essayez jamais de le cultiver en intérieur, il ne supporte pas la chaleur des appartements.

Arroser mon limettier

Le saviez vous? Le limettier a comme la plupart des agrumes en été un langage particulier pour vous expliquer s'il a soif ! Ainsi, des feuilles pointant vers le haut signifient une insuffisance en eau. Les feuilles orientées vers le bas, à l'inverse, signifient un excès en eau ! Cela dit, durant les beaux jours, le limettier en pot à l'extérieur est soumis à une forte évaporation : il a donc besoin d'arrosages très réguliers en cette saison pour pousser de manière optimale. Le mélange ne devra jamais sécher complètement entre deux arrosages en été, mais il ne faut pas non plus laisser d'eau stagnante dans la coupelle. En hiver, vous arroserez encore à un rythme soutenu tant que l'arbre porte des fruits - et vous pouvez descendre à une fois par mois ensuite, en laissant légèrement le substrat sec entre deux arrosages.

Rempoter mon limettier

Un limettier cultivé en pot a besoin d'apports réguliers, au risque de ne pas être au mieux de sa forme ! Rempotez au printemps, tous les 2 à 3 ans environ, en changeant le maximum de substrat pour un terreau de qualité spécial agrumes ou plantation. Assurez vous que le fond du pot est bien percé - ajoutez quelques graviers au fond pour un effet drainant.

Rentrer mon limettier

Dès l'automne, rentrez les pots. Hivernez votre limettier en pot dans un emplacement très lumineux et hors gel : la température idéale devra se situer entre 8 et 12°C - surtout pas dans votre salon, ou alors résignez vous à vivre à ces températures ! Pendant l'hivernage, arrosez encore tant que l'arbuste porte des fruits, puis vous espacerez peu à peu, en laissant le substrat sécher légèrement entre deux apports.

Sortir mon limettier

Sortez votre limettier en pot pour l'été, à partir de mai. Trouvez lui un coin en plein soleil, mais à l'abri du vent qui dessèche ses feuilles !

Protéger mon limettier

Si votre limettier est en pleine terre, mais que vous craignez tout de même une éventuelle période de gel, n'hésitez pas à couvrir son pied d'un bon tas de feuilles mortes pour les semaines les plus rudes. Entourez également le tronc d’un paillasson épais (jonc tressé, roseau, paille de seigle ou de riz…), maintenu par des liens. Vous pouvez aussi recouvrir la frondaison d’un voile d’hivernage !

Fertiliser mon limettier

La gourmandise en eau des agrumes accélère le lessivage des sols : il faut impérativement fertiliser - surtout en pot ! Pour une belle récolte, apportez donc régulièrement un engrais riche en azote et en potasse - on trouve dans le commerce des engrais pour agrumes adaptés, ou essayez avec du compost. En hiver, réduisez les apports à un par mois, pour les reprendre au printemps, à une fréquence d’une fois tous les quinze jours.

Tailler mon limettier

Taillez le limettier pour l'inciter à faire plus de ramifications, pour un port plus compact et moins étalé. Les premières années, coupez chaque nouvelle tige, une fois sa croissance finie - les nouvelles feuilles sont alors plus foncées et ont durcies - en ne lui laissant qu’une longueur de 20 cm. On pratique une taille par mois, de mai à septembre, jusqu’à ce que le limettier ait pris sa forme. Par la suite, une seule taille dans l’année suffira, à la sortie de l’hiver. Éliminez alors les branches mortes ou malades ainsi que celles se chevauchant, pour ouvrir la plante et laisser pénétrer la lumière.

Surveiller mon limettier

Observez votre limettier en hiver : si vos feuilles noircissent, c'est un coup de froid, et si elles pâlissent, c'est un manque d’engrais ! Le limettier peut aussi avoir d'autres ennuis : Les pucerons se voient à l’œil nu, sous les feuilles, près des nervures. Pulvérisez sur les feuilles de l’eau savonneuse, ou un mélange eau et huile d’olive qui en plus, nourrira votre plante. Les cochenilles, elles, s’enferment dans une carapace brune ou sous un feutrage blanc, au dos de la feuille contre la nervure principale et excrètent un miellat qui finira par attirer des champignons. Le feuillage du limettier est décoloré, son vert vire au gris argenté, de petites toiles d’araignée se forment au bout des feuilles ? Votre limettier est attaqué par des araignées rouges. Contre les cochenilles et les araignées rouges, on peut préventivement humecter le feuillage en vaporisant plusieurs fois par semaine de l'eau non calcaire et non javellisée.

Pailler mon limettier

Originaires de régions tropicales où la pluviométrie atteint jusqu'à 2 000 mm/an, les limettiers aiment un sol toujours frais mais bien drainé. Leurs racines sont pour la plupart superficielles, et ils n'apprécient pas la présence d'herbes ou d'autres plantes qui leur font concurrence. Paillez, pour vous éviter d'avoir à désherber, et pour garder le pied au frais ! Les épines de pin lui conviendront parfaitement.

Récolter mon limettier

La récolte s'effectue de novembre à mars : c’est donc souvent à l'intérieur que les fruits mûriront. Maintenez la terre légèrement humide tant que vous n'avez pas cueilli les derniers fruits.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes