Nandina

A shrub with a flashy coloured foliage.
Common name : Nandina
Scientific name : Nandina domestica
Family : Berberidaceae
Category : Shrubs
Type of plant : Perennial
Evergreen
Evergreen
Easy peasy
Easy peasy
Urban
Urban
Flowery
Flowery
Large pot
Large pot
Nandina domestica - the nandina - is a species and the only member of the monotypic genus Nandina in the family Berberidaceae native to eastern Asia. It is an erect evergreen shrub up to 2 m (7 ft) tall with numerous, usually unbranched stems growing from ground level, glossy, bi- to tri-pinnately compound leaves - brightly coloured pink to red in Spring before turning green, and white flowers, borne in early summer in conical clusters held well above the foliage. Nandina is considered invasive in some states in the US.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_3
Frost-resistance High
Zone USDA 6a
Height 60 - 200
pH 6

Identify my nandina

Easy ! It's a shrub with narrow branches, an erect habit, bearing persistent leaves divided into pointed leaflets. The summer bloom is creamy white, turning into red berry. The foliage changes color in the fall to become coppery or red.

Plant my nandina

Plant in the fall or spring, in fresh or heavy soil, non-calcareous, rich, in the sun or partial shade. Allow one meter between each plant, knowing that development is slow. No need to prune during the planting, simply dig a hole twice the size of the root ball without mixing the layers, plant and reseal the hole by putting the layers of soil in order, adding a little compost to the ground. Tamp the soil around the roots with your foot. Form a hollow for watering matching the volume of two watering cans. Sprinkle. In pots, find a container at least 40cm in diameter, which you fill with compost and loam, with gravel at the bottom.

Water my nandina

Water regularly and copiously for a few weeks after planting. After, you will have to worry about watering only if your nandina is in pot, or during droughts.

Repot my nandina

If you keep your nandina potted, plan a re-potting every 2 to 3 years, in some potting soil and a slightly larger pot.

Prune my nandina

The slow growth of Nandina incites to prune it slightly, unless you want hedges.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Nandina

Petit et bel arbuste à feuillage persistant coloré à l'automne, à fleurs blanches odorantes se transformant en baies rouges décoratives.
Nom commun : Nandina
Nom latin : Nandina domestica
Famille : Berbéridacées
Catégorie : Arbuste
Type de plante: Vivace
Persistante
Persistante
Débutant
Débutant
Balcon
Balcon
Fleurie
Fleurie
Gros pot
Gros pot
Le Nandina, appelé parfois 'bambou sacré', n'est pas un vrai bambou, c'est un arbuste à développement modéré plein de qualités. Une floraison odorante, un feuillage persistant décoratif à l'automne, et en bonus des baies colorées. Bref, une plante très chouette, dont le seul inconvénient est sa pousse lente. Il existe différents cultivars aux feuillages et aux ports variés.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Besoins en eau
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_3
Résistance au gel Très bonne
Zone USDA 6a
Hauteur à maturité 60 - 200
pH 6

Identifier mon nandina

Facile ! Un arbuste aux rameaux fins, érigé le plus souvent, persistant, à feuilles divisées en folioles pointues. La floraison estivale est en épis blancs crème, se transformant en baie rouges. Le feuillage change de teinte à l'automne pour devenir cuivré ou ou rouge.

Planter mon nandina

Plantez à l'automne ou au printemps, en terrain frais voire lourd, non calcaire, riche, au soleil ou à mi-ombre. Prévoyez un mètre entre chaque plant, sachant que le développement est lent. Inutile de tailler à la plantation, creusez simplement un trou de deux fois la taille de la motte sans mélanger les couches, plantez sans enterrer le collet de la plante et rebouchez en remettant les couches du sol dans l'ordre, en ajoutant un peu de compost à la terre. Tassez bien la terre autour des racines avec le pied. Formez une cuvette pour l'arrosage correspondante au volume de deux arrosoirs. Arrosez. En pot, trouvez un contenant d'au moins 40cm de diamètre, que vous remplirez de compost et de terre franche, avec des graviers au fond. N'oubliez pas la coupelle.

Arroser mon nandina

Arrosez très régulièrement et copieusement pendant quelques semaines après la plantation. Après, vous n'aurez à vous soucier d'arroser que si votre nandina est en pot.

Rempoter mon nandina

Si vous gardez votre nandina en pot, prévoyez un rempotage tous les 2 à 3 ans, dans un simple terreau et un pot légèrement plus grand.

Tailler mon nandina

La croissance lente du Nandina incite à le tailler le moins possible, sauf si vous voulez former des haies.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes