Pepino

Pepino - also called Pepino dulce - comes from the Spanish word for cucumber while ‘dulce’ is the word for sweet. This sweet melon-like fruit is a good source of vitamin C.
Common name : Pepino
Scientific name : Solanum muricatum
Family : Solanaceae
Category : Veggies
Type of plant : Perennial
Pepino is grown as an annual like tomatoes : it can not be kept outdoors when frost hits. It is a shrub that may reach 1 meter in height, which carries white flowers streaked with violet in early summer. The fruits are clear with purplish strips.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Harvestint

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_3
Frost-resistance Medium
Zone USDA 10a
Height 60 - 100
pH 6 - 7

Sow my pepino

As for tomato and most Solanaceae, melon pear seedlings are made during the months of February / March / April depending on your region, in a warm place - 20 ° C minimum - in pots or terrine. Spoon the plants sown in the terrine when they have two real leaves, then keep them warm until the final transplanting, that is to say when the last frosts have passed, beginning in mid-May .

Plant my pepino

If you have purchased seedlings in pots, plant them in open soil after the last frosts. Find a location in full sun in ordinary, well-drained soil. Originating from the Andean plateaus, pepinos like heat, but not drought or heatwave. Plan a plant per m². The planting itself is simple, dig a hole twice as big as the root ball, put back some of the soil extracted from the bottom, and place your plant. Adjust the height of the plant and finish filling. Water copiously. You can also plant in a 50-liter pot filled with light soil and compost.

Water my pepino

Water without excess, because the pepino neither likes soggy soil nor dry ground. Keep it fresh regularly, especially during fruit formation. Water twice a week in pots, and the first month after planting.

Mulch my pepino

To simplify watering, mulch just after planting with 5 cm of mulch or wood crushed in small pieces.

Put outside my pepino

put your pepino out after the last frosts! They need the full sun.

Shelter my pepino

At the end of the season, remember to put your pepino inside because it does not appreciate the frosts. Store it, and water it from time to time.

Reap my pepino

Harvest the fruits after 5 months of cultivation, from July to October, when the fruits have taken an unbleached hue - and thus lost their green dress. They can be stored in the refrigerator for several weeks as long as they are dry.

Propagate my pepino

The pepino fears the cold, so if you planted yours in open soil, make some cuttings. At the end of the season, take cuttings that have formed some wood and carry 3 leaves. Shorten them if they have more. Plant in a container filled with a mixture of earth and sand, then water lightly. You should keep them all winter until next spring, in the light and above 18 ° C.

Remove my pepino

Before the first frosts.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Pepino

Essayez donc le "pepino" ou "poire-melon", cette cousine des tomates et des aubergines aux fruits dont nous préférons vous laisser deviner le goût.
Nom commun : Pepino
Nom latin : Solanum muricatum
Famille : Solanacées
Catégorie : Potager
Type de plante: Vivace
Cette plante sud-américaine se cultive en annuelle comme les tomates, car elle craint les gelées et ne peut être conservée à l'extérieur. Le pepino est un arbuste atteignant 1 m qui porte des fleurs blanches striées de violet en début d'été, avant de former les fruits qui nous intéressent. Les fruits sont clairs à bandes violacées. La comparaison de leur goût original avec la poire et le melon est en réalité approximative, en tout cas à notre goût. Ça y est, on l'a dit.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Récolte

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Besoins en eau
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_3
Résistance au gel Moyenne
Zone USDA 10a
Hauteur à maturité 60 - 100
pH 6 - 7

Semer mon pepino

Comme pour la tomate et la plupart des solanacées, les semis de la poire-melon s'effectuent au cours des mois de février/mars/avril selon votre région, au chaud - 20°C minimum - en godets ou en terrine. Repiquez en godet les plants semés en terrine lorsqu'ils présentent deux vraies feuilles, puis gardez-les au chaud jusqu'au moment du repiquage définitif, c'est-à-dire quand les dernières gelées sont passées, soit début à mi-mai.

Planter mon pepino

Si vous avez acheté de jeunes plants en godets, plantez-les en pleine terre après les derniers gels. Trouvez-leur un emplacement au jardin en plein soleil dans un sol ordinaire bien drainé. Originaires des plateaux des Andes, les pepinos aiment la chaleur, mais pas la sécheresse ou la canicule. Prévoyez un plant par m². La plantation en elle même est simple, ouvrez un trou deux fois grand comme la motte, remettez une partie de la terre du fond, et placez votre plant. Ajustez la hauteur du plant puis finissez de reboucher. Arrosez copieusement. Vous pouvez aussi planter dans un pot de 50 litres empli de terre légère et de compost.

Arroser mon pepino

Arrosez sans excès, le pepino n'aime ni le sol détrempé ni le sol sec. Gardez-le régulièrement frais, surtout pendant la formation des fruits. Arrosez deux fois par semaine en pot, et le premier mois après la plantation.

Pailler mon pepino

Pour vous simplifier l'arrosage, paillez juste après la plantation avec 5 cm de paille ou de bois en petits morceaux.

Sortir mon pepino

Sortez vos pepino dès les derniers gels passés ! Ils apprécient le plein soleil.

Rentrer mon pepino

En fin de saison, pensez à rentrer votre pepino en pot car il n'apprécie pas les gelées. Stockez-le donc hors-gel, et arrosez-le de temps en temps.

Récolter mon pepino

Récoltez les fruits après 5 mois de culture, de juillet à octobre, quand les fruits ont pris une teinte écru - et donc perdu leur robe verte. On peut les conserver au réfrigérateur plusieurs semaines à condition qu'ils soient au sec.

Multiplier mon pepino

Le pepino craint le froid, donc si vous avez planté le vôtre en pleine terre, bouturez-le. En fin de saison prélevez des boutures qui ont formé un peu de bois et portent 3 feuilles. Raccourcissez-les s'ils en ont davantage. Plantez-les dans un récipient empli d'un mélange de terre et de sable, puis arrosez légèrement. Vous les garderez tout l'hiver jusqu'au printemps prochain à la lumière et au dessus de 18°C.

Arracher mon pepino

Avant les premières gelées.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes