Pothos

The pothos, also called the devil's vine or devil's ivy because it is almost impossible to kill!
Common name : Pothos
Scientific name : Scindapsus pictus
Family : Araceae
Category : Indoor
Type of plant : Perennial
Cold-sensitive
Cold-sensitive
Pruning needed
Pruning needed
Minimal water
Minimal water
Indoor
Indoor
Scindapsus pictus - the pothos or money plant - is a species of flowering plant in the Araceae family native to French Polynesia, and a popular houseplant in temperate regions. It is an evergreen vine growing to 20 m (66 ft) tall in its natural habitat but in containers it stays much reduced, with stems climbing by means of aerial roots which adhere to surfaces. The leaves are alternate, heart-shaped, up to 100 cm (39 in) long with juvenile leaves much smaller, typically under 20 cm (8 in), especially when it is cultivated as a potted plant. The flowers are produced in a spathe up to 23 cm (9 in) long.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_3
Frost-resistance Low
Zone USDA 13a
Height 45 - 800
pH 6 - 7

Identify my pothos

The genus Epipremnum aka Scindapsus aka Pothos is composed of 8 species of which two are known among us: E. aureum and E. pictum. They are evergreen climbers whose leaves have two shapes: young and adult. The stems are radicant and can re-root away from the original foot. The leaves are whole or pinnate, alternate. The flowering is composed of flowers without petals surrounded by spathes.

Plant my pothos

After the purchase do not wait too long to transplant your pothos into a new pot matching the size of the mound, with a 1 meter-high stake. Fill it partially with soil and potting mix, plant the pothos and then its support and add the rest of the mixture until filling the pot. Tamp well and water until water comes into the cup under the container.

Water my pothos

During the growing season, water once or twice a week. In winter, space the waterings to 10 days.

Take care of my pothos

From time to time, clean the leaves of your pothos with a damp cloth, to prevent the attacks of red spiders and remove the dust that impeeds the photosynthesis.

Prune my pothos

In March, shorten all stems 1/4 of their length.

Fertilize my pothos

In summer, add liquid fertilizer for green plants every 2 weeks. We recommend a good quality liquid compost "tea", diluted to 1/10th strength. If you like chemistry, a slow release fertilizer is possible... Stop all fertilizer treatments at the end of summer.

Propagate my pothos

From March to June you can try to propagate your pothos simply by marcotting them. So lay one or more stems against the soil of the pot and wait several weeks for them to form roots. You will only have to take the new plant to repot it elsewhere!

Check on my pothos

Watch for the attacks of red spiders and mealybugs, which you can remove with a damp cloth.

Put outside my pothos

If temperatures are between 18 and 25 ° C take out your pothos for sunny days.

Shelter my pothos

As soon as the temperatures drop, bring in your pothos! Be sure to keep it at a temperature that does not drop below 14 ° C, but do not place it near a radiator either.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Pothos

Pas besoin d'amis quand on a des pothos ! OK, je sors.
Nom commun : Pothos
Nom latin : Scindapsus pictus
Famille : Aracées
Catégorie : Intérieur
Type de plante: Vivace
Frileuse
Frileuse
A tailler
A tailler
Sobre
Sobre
Intérieur
Intérieur
Le pothos est une grimpante tropicale à feuillage ornemental. Sa survie sous nos climats tempérés est délicate car il ne supporte pas les températures en dessous de 13°C, il faut donc le conserver à l'intérieur à la lumière vive ou en pleine lumière. NB : toute la plante est toxique.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Besoins en eau
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_3
Résistance au gel Faible
Zone USDA 13a
Hauteur à maturité 45 - 800
pH 6 - 7

Identifier mon pothos

Le genre Epipremnum aka Scindapsus aka Pothos est composé de 8 espèces dont deux sont connues chez nous : E. aureum et E. pictum. Ce sont des grimpantes persistantes dont les feuilles présentent deux formes : jeune et adulte. Les tiges sont radicantes et peuvent donc se ré-enraciner à distance du pied d'origine. Les feuilles sont entière ou pennées, alternes. La floraison est composée de fleurs sans pétales entourées par des spathes.

Planter mon pothos

Hé oui, certaines situations requièrent qu'on plante ses pothos... mais c'est pour leur bien ! Après l'achat n'attendez pas trop pour repiquer votre pothos dans un nouveau pot à la taille de la motte, accompagné d'un tuteur d'1 mètre. Emplissez-le partiellement de terre et de terreau à parts égales, plantez le pothos puis son tuteur - qui peut très bien avoir une forme de poteau - et ajoutez le reste du mélange jusqu’à emplir le pot. Tassez-bien puis arrosez jusqu'à ce que de l'eau arrive dans la coupelle sous le contenant.

Arroser mon pothos

Pendant la période de croissance, arrosez une à deux fois par semaine. En hiver, espacez les arrosages à 10 jours.

Entretenir mon pothos

De temps en temps, nettoyez les feuilles de votre pothos avec un linge humidifié, pour prévenir les attaques d'araignées rouges et retirer la poussière qui nuit à la photosynthèse.

Tailler mon pothos

En mars, raccourcissez toutes les tiges d'1/4 de leur longueur.

Fertiliser mon pothos

En été, faites toutes les 2 semaines un apport d'engrais liquide pour plantes vertes. Un bon jus de compost dilué au 1/10 est recommandé. Si la chimie vous plait, un engrais à libération lente est possible... Oubliez tout apport dès l'automne.

Multiplier mon pothos

De mars à juin vous pouvez essayer de multiplier vos pothos simplement en les marcottant. Plaquez donc une ou plusieurs tiges contre la terre du pot et attendez plusieurs semaines qu'elles forment des racines. Vous n'aurez ensuite qu'à prélever le nouveau plant pour le rempoter ailleurs !

Surveiller mon pothos

Surveillez les attaques d'araignées rouges et les cochenilles, que vous pouvez retirer avec un linge humide.

Sortir mon pothos

Si les températures le permettent - entre 18 et 25°C - sortez votre pothos pour les beaux jours.

Rentrer mon pothos

Dès que les températures rafraîchissent, rentrez votre pothos ! Veillez à le maintenir à une température qui ne baisse pas en dessous de 14 °C. Ne le placez pas près d'un radiateur qui assèche l'air.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes