Reflexed stonecrop

A popular, drought and frost-tolerant sedum.
Common name : Reflexed stonecrop
Scientific name : Sedum reflexum
Family : Crassulaceae
Category : Perennials
Type of plant : Perennial
S. reflexum is a prostrate, spreading sedum growing up to 10 cm high, with sprawling stems and stiff foliage resembling spruce branches. The leaves are usually blue-gray to gray but range to light greens and yellows, the flowers are yellow.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_4
Frost-resistance High
Zone USDA 7a
Height 5 - 90
pH 7 - 8

Plant my stonecrop

In open soil, plant in a drained soil, moderately sandy, neutral to slightly alkaline, in full sun, even in the shade for robust species. In pots, mix garden soil with gravel and sand, and some ripe compost.

Weed my stonecrop

In perennial species, weeding also means working your flowerbed – don't let anything develop too quickly to the detriment of others.

Water my stonecrop

Water during the summer season once a week if the weather is dry. Remember to keep the leaves dry ! If your plant is in a pot, water once a week in the first month - then every 10-12 days in the winter.

Fertilize my stonecrop

With a respectful approach to soil life, it's always better to fertilize a little in advance with organic material that will decompose; spread out a compost that isn't entirely decomposed, with well decomposed manure at the plant's base, and incorporate over 10 cm with a hoe. This operation is carried out in winter so that earthworms and bacteria have enough time to do their job.

Mulch my stonecrop

Mulch the large sedums, this will prevent some watering and weeding in summer. For small orpines, use a mineral mulch instead.

Cut down my stonecrop

After flowering, trim the crawling orpins so that they remain compact.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Orpin réfléchi

Une espèce résistante au gel, au moins jusqu'à −15 °C, couvre-sol et parfaite pour le jardin.
Nom commun : Orpin réfléchi
Nom latin : Sedum reflexum
Famille : Crassulacées
Catégorie : Vivaces
Type de plante: Vivace
Feuillage persistant en épi gris-vert et inflorescences en panicules de fleurs étoilées, jaunes de juillet-août. Réclame une exposition au soleil, et accepte un sol ordinaire, pauvre, même calcaire, plutôt sec.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Besoins en eau
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_4
Résistance au gel Très bonne
Zone USDA 7a
Hauteur à maturité 5 - 90
pH 7 - 8

Planter mes sedums

En pleine terre, plantez dans un sol drainé, moyennement sableux, neutre à légèrement alcalin, en plein soleil, voire ombragé pour les espèces robustes. En pot, mélangez de la terre de jardin avec des graviers et du sable, et un peu de compost mûr.

Désherber mes sedums

Dans le cas des vivaces, désherber veut aussi dire arbitrer dans votre massif ; ne pas laisser trop se développer les plus vigoureuses, au détriment des plus lentes.

Arroser mes sedums

Arrosez durant la période estivale mais sans excès, une fois par semaine s'il fait très sec, plutôt le matin et en épargnant les feuilles. En pot, arrosez une fois par semaine durant la croissance, et réduisez à une fois tous les 12 jours en hiver.

Fertiliser mes sedums

Mieux vaut toujours fertiliser un peu en avance avec une matière organique qui va se décomposer tranquillement ; épandre un compost pas entièrement décomposé, de l'or brun ou un fumier bien décomposé au pied des plantes, et les incorporer sur 10 cm avec une griffe. Cette opération se fait généralement en hiver pour que les vers de terre et les bactéries du sol aient le temps de faire leur travail.

Pailler mes sedums

Paillez les pieds des grands sedums, cela vous évitera de l'arrosage et du désherbage en été. Pour les petits sedums de rocaille, utilisez plutôt un paillage minéral.

Rabattre mes sedums

Après la floraison, rabattez les orpins rampants pour qu'ils restent compacts.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes