Senecio haworthii

A dwarf shrub, with upright white leaves !
Common name : Senecio haworthii
Scientific name : Senecio haworthii
Family : Asteraceae
Category : Indoor
Type of plant : Perennial
Indoor
Indoor
Small pots
Small pots
Senecio haworthii is a perennial, succulent shrub up to 1 foot (30 cm) tall with stunningly attractive upright cylindrical succulent leaves with fine white hairs covering all surfaces of the leaves. It produces bright yellow flowers on a short terminal inflorescence.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_4
Frost-resistance Medium
Zone USDA 10a
Height 10 - 30
pH 6.3 - 6.8

Plant my senecio haworthii

The senecio fits pretty well inside our homes and apartments. It needs light - ideally sunshine for several hours a day - and a rather poor and well-drained substrate.

Water my senecio haworthii

Senecio doesn't like moist, and it's water needs are pretty limited — it stores everything it needs inside it's thick leaves! During growth seasons (spring, summer), watering should be regular, about once a week, but controlled, to make sure the roots don't drown. In autumn, gradually reduce watering until winter, when once-monthly watering will suffice.

Prune my senecio haworthii

When some branches do not have a good appearance or are too old, you can prune them, ideally in spring, after flowering. The best method is to cut by breaking the stems gently by hand. Be sure to keep 3 to 5 leaves on each branch, as this may weaken it too much.

Fertilize my senecio haworthii

Never ! Your senecio likes poor soils, really!

Repot my senecio haworthii

At the end of winter every 3 or 4 years, repot your plant in a pot slightly larger than the current, with a mixture of sand and potting soil.

Propagate my senecio haworthii

You can easily make cuttings of your senecio, to have more pot or to offer! The cuttings are taken from May to August, during the growing season. Fragments should be at least 3 knots in length and have some leaves. Let the cuttings heal 2-3 days before burying them to prevent rotting of the wound in contact with the soil. Then lay them flat, nodes lightly buried in the moistened substrate, with the leaves on top, or 2 nodes without leaf buried, and the rest with the leaves protruding. The recovery is generally carried out in about ten days at 25 ° C.

Check on my senecio haworthii

Your senecio is not very sensitive to diseases, except when it is over watered - it is especially sensitive to water, which makes its roots rot.

Put outside my senecio haworthii

Do not hesitate to bring out your senecio for the summer! Just avoid placing it directly in the sun right away - acclimatize it gently, and of course, watch the watering! You will shelter it at the end of the summer.

Shelter my senecio haworthii

Put your senecio inside before the first cool nights, in a fairly bright situation. You will water it once a month in winter. Keep it in a cool room if possible: it is a cool winter rest period - less than 15 ° C - and a significant brightness that condition the bloom, that takes place at the end of winter.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Senecio haworthii

Un petit arbuste aux feuilles dressées !
Nom commun : Senecio haworthii
Nom latin : Senecio haworthii
Famille : Astéracées
Catégorie : Intérieur
Type de plante: Vivace
Intérieur
Intérieur
Petit pot
Petit pot
Senecio haworthii est un arbuste nain vivace, succulent, atteignant 30 centimètres de hauteur et doté de feuilles succulentes cylindriques dressées étonnamment verticales, d'un blanc pur dû aux poils blancs qui recouvrent toutes les surfaces des feuilles. Il produit des fleurs jaune vif sur une inflorescence courte.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Besoins en eau
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_4
Résistance au gel Moyenne
Zone USDA 10a
Hauteur à maturité 10 - 30
pH 6.3 - 6.8

Planter mon senecio haworthii

Le senecio s’adapte plutôt bien à l’intérieur de nos maisons et de nos appartements. Il a besoin de lumière - idéalement un ensoleillement de plusieurs heures par jour - et d'un substrat plutôt pauvre et très bien drainé.

Arroser mon senecio haworthii

Le senecio n'aime pas l'humidité, et a des besoins en eau très limités : il stocke tout dans ses feuilles épaisses ! Pendant la période de croissance (printemps, été), l'arrosage sera un peu régulier -jusqu'à une fois par semaine si besoin - mais mesuré afin de ne pas asphyxier les racines de la plante. Un indice : observez le feuillage, les feuilles flétrissent en surface lorsque la plante à soif! A l'automne, espacez doucement les arrosages, jusqu'à l'hiver où un simple apport d'eau une fois par mois devrait suffire.

Tailler mon senecio haworthii

Lorsque certaines branches n’ont plus un bel aspect ou qu’elles sont trop vieilles, vous pouvez tailler, idealement au printemps, après la floraison. Le mieux est de tailler à la main en cassant doucement les tiges. Veillez à conserver absolument 3 à 5 feuilles sur chaque branche, au risque de trop l'affaiblir.

Fertiliser mon senecio haworthii

Jamais ! Votre senecio aime les sols pauvres, vraiment !

Rempoter mon senecio haworthii

A la sortie de l'hiver tous les 3 ou 4 ans, rempotez votre senecio dans un pot légèrement plus grand que l'actuel, avec un mélange de sable et de terreau.

Multiplier mon senecio haworthii

Les tiges du Senecio haworthii ayant tendance à se dégarnir du bas, vous pourriez avoir intérêt à faire des boutures régulièrement. Cette plante est plus longue à bouturer que la plupart des autres succulentes car ses tiges sont légèrement boisées. Les boutures sont prélevées à partir de mai jusqu’à août, en pleine saison de croissance. Les fragments doivent comporter au moins 3 nœuds de longueur et quelques feuilles. Laissez cicatriser les boutures 2 à 3 jours avant de les enterrer pour éviter une pourriture de la plaie au contact de la terre. Installez-les ensuite à plat, nœuds légèrement enterrés dans le substrat humidifié et feuilles sur le dessus, ou 2 nœuds sans feuille enterrés, et le reste avec les feuilles qui dépassent. La reprise s’effectue en général en une dizaine de jours à 25 °C.

Surveiller mon senecio haworthii

Le senecio est très peu sensible aux maladies, sauf lorsqu'il est trop arrosé - il craint surtout l'eau, qui peut faire pourrir ses racines.

Sortir mon senecio haworthii

N'hésitez pas à sortir votre senecio pour l'été ! Evitez simplement de le placer directement en plein soleil tout de suite - acclimatez le plus doucement, et bien sûr, surveillez l'arrosage ! Vous le rentrerez dès la fin de l'été.

Rentrer mon senecio haworthii

Rentrez votre senecio bien avant les première nuits fraîches, en situation assez lumineuse. Vous l'arroserez une fois par mois en hiver. Gardez le dans une pièce plutôt fraiche si possible : c’est une période de repos hivernal au frais- moins de 15°C - et une luminosité importante qui conditionnent la floraison qui a lieu en fin d’hiver.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes