The river star

A South-African shrub - cousin of the Buddleia.
Common name : The river star
Scientific name : Gomphostigma virgatum
Family : Scrophulariaceae
Category : Shrubs
Type of plant : Perennial
Wind resistant
Wind resistant
Cold-sensitive
Cold-sensitive
Flowery
Flowery
Gomphostigma is an evergreen arching shrub growing up to to 1.5m with narrow, stemless silvery leaves and tiny white star-shaped flowers in small clusters. Plant in full sun to light shade. It’s hardy to -10°C, and low maintenance.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_1
Frost-resistance Medium
Zone USDA 9a
Height 100 - 150
pH 6.3 - 6.7

Plant my river star

Plant your gomphostigma in a sunny position, in a very well drained soil or sandy, neutral acid. It will enjoy a bit of shade during the hottest hours of the day. Plant in open soil, in the spring so that it is sufficiently rooted to support the first winter. The gomphostigma will only support short frosts: in areas where frost is common, grow it in pot in order to shelter it in winter.

Protect my river star

To help it through winter, protect your plant from cold winds — these are its only real enemy! — by spreading a good layer of mulch at its base. In this manner, even in the case of heavy frosts, new branches will sprout from the plant. If your plant is potted, shelter it from winds by moving it closer to a wall, by potentially raising it from direct contact with the ground, and if possible, protecting the pot itself by wrapping it with burlap, and possibly stuffed with straw.

Water my river star

Your Gomphostigma grows in its natural habitat on river banks, its roots in water, but remains relatively resistant to drier conditions. Water sparingly for a few weeks after planting, and in the summer in case of drought : check the needs by pushing your finger a few inches deep in the substrate, and water if it is dry underneath. If grown in a pot, and depending on the size of the pot, you may need to water fro time to time - same thing, check with your finger and water only if needed!

Repot my river star

If you keep your gomphostigma potted, if possible repot every 2 to 3 years, in a simple potting soil and a slightly larger pot. Otherwise, scrape and remove the upper layer of the mixture, and replace it with some new potting soil or some well decomposed compost.

Prune my river star

A vigorous trim in late winter or early spring to help maintain it's bushy shape and increase its future flowering is all this plant needs!

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Gomphostigma virgatum

Un cousin sud-africain du buddleia, qui gagne à être connu !
Nom commun : Gomphostigma virgatum
Nom latin : Gomphostigma virgatum
Famille : Scrophulariacées
Catégorie : Arbuste
Type de plante: Vivace
Plein vent
Plein vent
Frileuse
Frileuse
Fleurie
Fleurie
Gomphostigma virgatum est un arbuste persistant ressemblant à un genêt touffu avec son port arqué, aérien, et ses rameaux souples, ses petites fleurs blanches légèrement parfumées et son feuillage argenté. Il peut résister à de courtes gelées de l'ordre de -10°C, en sol suffisamment drainé.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Besoins en eau
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_1
Résistance au gel Moyenne
Zone USDA 9a
Hauteur à maturité 100 - 150
pH 6.3 - 6.7

Planter mon gomphostigma

Placez votre gomphostigma en situation ensoleillée, dans une terre très bien drainée voire sablonneuse, neutre à acide. Il appréciera un peut d'ombre aux heures les plus chaudes de la journée Plantez en pleine terre au printemps pour qu'il soit suffisamment enraciné pour supporter le premier hiver. Le gomphostigma ne supportera que de brèves gelées: dans les régions ou le gel est fréquent, il faudra le cultiver en pot afin de pouvoir mettre celui-ci à l’abri en hiver.

Protéger mon gomphostigma

Pour l’aider à passer l’hiver, protégez votre gomphostigma des vents froids - qui sont son seul véritable ennemi ! - en apportant à son pied un bon paillis de feuilles. Si votre gomphostigma est en pot et que vous ne pouvez pas le rentrer, abritez-le des vents en le rapprochant des murs, en le surélevant éventuellement du sol pour éviter le contact direct, et protégez si possible le pot lui-même en l'entourant de plastique bulle : c'est moche mais ça protège !

Arroser mon gomphostigma

Arbuste des bords de rivières, le gomphostigma supporte malgré tout assez bien une légère sècheresse. Arrosez parcimonieusement pendant quelques semaines après la plantation, et l'été en cas de période très sèche : vérifiez les besoins en enfonçant le doigt de quelques centimètres dans le substrat, et arrosez si tout est sec. En pot, et selon la taille du pot, il vous faudra parfois prévoir un complément - même chose, vérifiez au doigt !

Rempoter mon gomphostigma

Si vous gardez votre gomphostigma en pot, prévoyez si possible un rempotage tous les 2 à 3 ans, dans un simple terreau et un pot légèrement plus grand. Sinon, surfacez : grattez et enlevez la couche supérieure du mélange, et remplacer le par du terreau neuf ou un peu de compost bien décomposé.

Tailler mon gomphostigma

Une taille énergique en fin d'hiver ou au début du printemps permet d'accentuer le port touffu de cette plante et d'augmenter sa floraison future.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes