Alocasia

Elephant Ear Plant - Alocasia - is a broad-leaved rhizomatous or tuberous perennial from the family Araceae native to tropical and subtropical Asia to Eastern Australia, and widely cultivated elsewhere.
Common name : Alocasia
Scientific name : Alocasia
Family : Araceae
Category : Indoor
Type of plant : Perennial
Indoor
Indoor
Large pot
Large pot
A beautiful tropical plant named Alocasia that requires high heat all year, and a very humid atmosphere. It is therefore cultivated in our colder climates in heated greenhouse or verandas. Alocasia is a relative of the arums, besides its fruiting in red berries stuck on a raised candle - a spathe - is very similar. The leaves emerge directly from the rhizome, are borne by a cylindrical petiole, and are elongated, sagitted - like an arrowhead - or oval. Some species have cut leaves, or colored ribs.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_5
Frost-resistance Low
Zone USDA 11a
Height 45 - 500
pH 6 - 7

Identify my alocasia

Alocasia is a cousin of arums. Its fructifications in red berries glued on an erect candle - a spathe - is very similar to that of arums. The leaves emerge directly from the rhizome, and are borne by a cylindrical petiole. Some species have cut leaves or colored veins. All are green, more or less dark, whole, elongated, sagittal - like an arrowhead - or oval.

Plant my alocasia

For the location, you need a bright place protected from direct sun - especially the afternoon - and away from the heaters. Provide a lot of moisture to your alocasia - bathroom, tropical greenhouse, porch can suit. Alocasia is a plant with great development, so chose a large pot - minimum 5 liters. For the planting use potting soil for indoor plant - rather woody - or a beautiful compost well decomposed very woody too, very draining. Water copiously with non-calcareous water at planting.

Water my alocasia

Water often and abundantly in the summer, with non-calcareous and non-chlorinated water. In winter, let the top soil dry slightly before watering.

Put outside my alocasia

In summer, take out your alocasia and place it in the shade. You should shelter it back before the cold returns.

Shelter my alocasia

Bring your alocasia inside at the end of the summer, find it a bright place protected from direct sun - especially in the afternoon - and away from the heaters.

Fertilize my alocasia

In summer, pour every 2 weeks a liquid fertilizer for green plants - or a good compost juice diluted to 1/10 if you have some! A slow-release fertilizer is possible ... Stop every fertilizing in the fall, and until the end of the following spring.

Repot my alocasia

At the end of the winter every 2 or 3 years, repot your alocasia in a pot slightly larger than the current one, with compost for indoor plants. If you have a beautiful compost well decomposed very woody, very draining, it works too.

Spray my alocasia

In dry weather, spray your plant with water not too hard, clean the dust on the leaves: it will be all the more beautiful!

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Alocasia

L'alocasie est souvent surnommé "oreille d'éléphant", pour une raison très originale : ses feuilles sont grandes... et certaines ont vaguement une forme d'oreille d'éléphant.

Nom commun : Alocasia
Nom latin : Alocasia
Famille : Aracées
Catégorie : Intérieur
Type de plante: Vivace

Vous aimez cette superbe plantes tropicale qu'est l'alocasie ? Vous rêvez d'en cultiver, et celles de la jardinerie vous font de l'oeil. Bon courage, parce que sa culture demande un peu d'équipement - ou une résidence secondaire en Asie du Sud-Est ! En effet, il exige une chaleur élevée toute l'année, et une atmosphère très humide, on le cultive donc plutôt en serre chauffée ou en véranda. L'alocasie est une cousine des arums, d'ailleurs sa fructifications en baies rouges collées sur une chandelle dressée - un spathe - est très semblable. Les feuilles émergent directement du rhizome, sont portées par un pétiole cylindrique, et sont allongées, sagittées - comme une pointe de flèche -, ou ovales. Certaines espèces ont des feuilles découpées, ou à nervures colorées. Les alocasies ne vivent pas très longtemps en intérieur, il peut être bénéfique de les placer à l'ombre à l'extérieur l'été. Attention, l'ingestion et le contact de la sève sont toxiques.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Granulométrie
Besoins en eau
Résistance au gel Moyenne
Zone USDA 9a
Hauteur à maturité 45 - 500
pH 6 - 7

Identifier mon alocasia

L'alocasie est une cousine des arums. Sa fructifications en baies rouges collées sur une chandelle dressée - un spathe - est très semblable à celle des arums. Les feuilles émergent directement du rhizome, et sont portées par un pétiole cylindrique. Certaines espèces ont des feuilles découpées ou à nervures colorées. Toutes sont vertes plus ou moins foncées, entières, allongées, sagittées - comme une pointe de flèche -, ou ovales.

Planter mon alocasia

Pour l'emplacement, il vous faut un endroit lumineux sans soleil direct - surtout celui de l'après midi - et à distance des radiateurs. Fournissez beaucoup d'humidité atmosphérique à votre alocasia - salle de bain, serre tropicale, véranda peuvent convenir. Les alocasies sont des plantes à grand développement, donc prévoyez un grand pot - minimum 5 litres . A la plantation utilisez du terreau pour plante d'intérieur - plutôt ligneux donc, ou un beau compost bien décomposé très ligneux lui aussi, très drainant. Arrosez copieusement avec de l'eau non calcaire à la plantation.

Arroser mon alocasia

Arrosez souvent et abondamment l'été, avec de l'eau non calcaire et non chlorée. En hiver, laissez la terre sécher légèrement en surface avant d'arroser.

Sortir mon alocasia

En été, sortez votre alocasia et placez-le à l'ombre. Vous le rentrerez avant le retour du froid.

Rentrer mon alocasia

Rentrez votre alocasia à la fin de l'été, en lui trouvant un endroit lumineux sans soleil direct - surtout celui de l'après midi - et à distance des radiateurs.

Fertiliser mon alocasia

En été, faites toutes les 2 semaines un apport d'engrais liquide pour plantes vertes.. ou pas. Un bon jus de compost dilué au 1/10 est recommandé. Si la chimie vous plait, un engrais à libération lente est possible... Oubliez tout apport dès l'automne.

Rempoter mon alocasia

A la sortie de l'hiver tous les 2 ou 3 ans, rempotez votre alocasia dans un pot légèrement plus grand que l'actuel, avec du terreau pour plante d'intérieur. Si vous avez un beau compost bien décomposé très ligneux, très drainant, çà marche aussi.

Entretenir mon alocasia

Par temps sec, n'hésitez pas à vaporiser votre alocasia avec de l'eau pas trop calcaire. Nettoyez la poussière sur les feuilles : il n'en sera que plus beau.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes