Cactus

Don't be a prick !
Common name : Cactus
Scientific name : Cactacées
Family : Cactaceae
Category : Indoor
Type of plant : Perennial
Minimal water
Minimal water
Indoor
Indoor
Frost resistant
Frost resistant
The Cactaceae is a large family of dicotyledonous plants comprising about 2500 species in nearly 90 genera. The word "cactus" no longer appears in the current classification but as a suffix of certain genus names, such as Echinocactus, Pterocactus, Stenocactus, etc. It often refers to the barbaric fig - Opuntia ficus-indica - a naturalized plant very common on the shores of the Mediterranean.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_2
Frost-resistance Medium
Zone USDA 9a
Height 2 - 200
pH 6 - 7

Identify my cactus

Cacti are herbaceous plants or shrubs, usually with very particular shapes, with chlorophyllic function transferred to the stems. Often spiny, perennial, most often succulent, cacti are sometimes epiphytic or climbing. The current appearance of cactus is mainly due to the adaptation to drought conditions, the development of the storage function and the reduction of evaporation surfaces. To distinguish true cacti from plants that resemble them, reference must be made to the criterias belonging to the Cactaceae family. The identification is done by the presence of areoles, and, as more generally in botany, by the flowers and fruits. Cacti cover a wide range of shapes and sizes. Spherical, cylindrical, pillar-shaped, with pointed or racquet-shaped leaves called cladodes ... The largest is Pachycereus pringlei, with a measured size of 19 meters, the smallest is Blossfeldia liliputiana, 1 cm of diameter! We distinguish a few different forms: tree or shrub, columnar, globular, drooping epiphytes, and even climbing for a very small number of species!

Plant my cactus

Plant your cacti in a light, porous and well-drained substrate to prevent water from stagnating around the roots - enriched with sand, it's a great idea! Cacti need as much light as possible. In pots inside, place them in front of the windows so that they are beautiful even in winter. In winter, they will prefer a cool room. In summer, do not hesitate to take them out if the conditions are favorable.

Water my cactus

Cacti tolerate infrequent watering, and hate stagnant water, especially in heavy soil. The rate of watering varies with the season, as your cactus "evaporates" more when it receives a lot of light. How to water? You can use tap water or reclaimed water. Sprinkle gently, and if you see water in the dish, empty it after several minutes.

Fertilize my cactus

Cactuses can live or survive with very little nutrients! But if you want beautiful vigorous plants, a supply of fertilizer can help. Use a liquid fertilizer, geranium or tomato fertilizer is just fine. The special fertilizer for cacti is almost identical, but more expensive! Fertilize on every other watering during the growing season.

Repot my cactus

Repot at the beginning of the beautiful days, at the end your cacti's winter rest, right before they resume their growth. This allows them to recover from the inconvenience, and to be ready for a new year. If you missed the moment, it's not very a big problem, you can do it all year! Repot your cacti every 3 or 4 years with potting soil mixed with a lot of sand. Know that the growth is related to the frequency of repotting: a cactus never repotted will stop growing! When repotting, remove the old soil and dead roots as much as possible, while being careful not to damage the larger ones, which are alive. To facilitate drainage, place a layer of coarse sand in the bottom of the pot, or even pebbles for large plants. Once the repotting is complete, wait one to two weeks to resume watering, so that the damaged roots heal. Otherwise, there is a risk of rottening the plant.

Check on my cactus

The number one enemy of cacti and succulents is decay due to too much humidity! Do not forget to be reasonable with watering, and especially to give your cactus a well draining substratum! Other fungal diseases can happen, especially botrytis. Do not hesitate to prune the sick parts of the plant to prevent the spread of the disease. Mealybugs and other mites are particularly fond of succulents. Sprays with soapy water will get rid of a large part of them. Do not forget to disinfect your equipment regularly (pots, pruning shears...) to avoid contaminations.

Shelter my cactus

Bring it inside well before the first cool nights, in a room not too heated so that it "feels" that it is winter: 5 to 10 ° C at night without artificial light! You should stop all watering until spring.

Put outside my cactus

Do not hesitate to take out your cactus for the summer! If it has spent the winter in the shade, just avoid placing it directly in full sun, acclimate it more gently ... You should put it back inside at the end of the summer.

Propagate my cactus

Cacti multiply very well by cuttings. Cut a piece cleanly and let it dry a few weeks before putting it in the ground and it's done! Choose a stem that is quite tender, neither too old nor too young and without any trace of disease. Also make sure not to make the mother plant unsightly! With a very sharp knife, select a piece of stem or leaf, at a joint. Leave the cutting outdoors, in a warm place, for a few days to dry. Then put it in a terracotta pot, with a very light mixture composed of a third of potting soil or peat and two thirds of sand. Water and then place the pot in a mini-greenhouse, at a temperature of 15 to 18 ° C, in a well-lit place, warm and moist.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Cactus

Le monde entier - est un cactus ! Il est impossible de s'assoiaaaaoir !

Nom commun : Cactus
Nom latin : Opuntia ficus-indica
Famille : Cactacées
Catégorie : Intérieur

La famille des Cactacées regroupe des plantes dicotylédones et comprend environ 2500 espèces réparties en près de 90 genres. Le mot "cactus" n'apparaît plus dans la classification actuelle que comme suffixe de certains noms de genre, tels que Echinocactus, Pterocactus, Stenocactus, etc. Dans le langage courant, il désigne souvent le figuier de Barbarie - Opuntia ficus-indica - plante naturalisée très commune sur les bords de la Méditerranée. Cette fiche concerne la majorité des cactus, parce qu'il faut bien le dire - les soins sons à peu près identiques !

Sobre
Sobre
Intérieur
Intérieur
Rustique+++
Rustique+++

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Identifier mon cactus

Les cactus sont des plantes herbacées ou des arbustes, généralement à forme végétative très particulière, avec la fonction chlorophyllienne transférée aux tiges. Souvent épineux, pérennes, le plus souvent succulents, les cactus sont parfois épiphytes ou grimpants. L'aspect actuel des cactus s'explique principalement par l'adaptation aux conditions de sécheresse, à l'origine du développement de la fonction de stockage et de la réduction des surfaces d'évaporation. Pour distinguer les vrais cactus des plantes qui leur ressemblent, il faut se reporter aux critères d'appartenance à la famille des Cactaceae. L'identification se fait par la présence d'aréoles, et, comme plus généralement en botanique, par les fleurs et les fruits. Les cactus couvrent un large éventail de formes et de tailles. On en trouve des sphériques, cylindriques, en forme de pilier, avec des feuilles pointues ou en forme de raquettes appelées cladodes… Le plus grand est Pachycereus pringlei, avec une taille mesurée de 19 mètres, le plus petit est Blossfeldia liliputiana, d’1 cm de diamètre! On distingue quelques formes différentes : arborescentes ou arbustives, colonnaires, globulaires, épiphytes retombantes, et même grimpantes pour un très petit nombre d'espèces !

Type de plante Intérieur
Végétations Vivace
Hauteur à maturité 2 - 200
pH 6 - 7

Emplacement / Exposition

Exposition
Granulométrie
Besoins en eau
Résistance au gel Très bonne
Zone USDA 6a

Planter mon cactus

Plantez vos cactées dans un substrat de culture léger, poreux et parfaitement drainé pour empêcher l'eau de stagner au niveau des racines - enrichi en sable, c'est une très bonne idée ! Les cactées ont besoin d'un maximum de lumière. En pot à l'intérieur, placez-les devant les fenêtres pour qu'elles soit belles même en hiver. En hiver, elles préféreront une pièce fraîche. En été, n'hésitez pas à les sortir si les conditions sont favorables.

Fertiliser mon cactus

Les cactus peuvent vivre ou survivre avec très peu de matière nutritive! Mais si vous voulez de belles plantes vigoureuses, un apport d'engrais peut vous aider. Utilisez simplement un engrais liquide, l'engrais à géraniums ou à tomates fait parfaitement l'affaire. L'engrais spécial cactées est quasiment identique, mais plus cher ! Fertilisez lors d'un arrosage sur deux pendant la période de croissance des plantes.

Rempoter mon cactus

Rempotez dès le début des beaux jours, à la fin du repos hivernal de vos cactées, juste avant qu'elles ne reprennent leur croissance. Cela leur permet de se remettre du dérangement, et d'être fin prêts pour une nouvelle année. Mais si vous avez loupé le moment, ce n'est pas très grave, vous pouvez le faire toute l'année ! Rempotez vos cactées tous les 3 ou 4 ans avec du terreau à forte proportion de sable. Sachez que sa croissance est très liée à la fréquence des rempotages : un cactus jamais rempoté ne poussera presque plus ! Lors du rempotage, enlevez au maximum la vieille terre et les racines mortes, en faisant attention de ne pas trop endommager les plus grosses, bien vivantes. C'est à ce moment-là que vous pouvez choisir la taille du nouveau pot, à moins que la plante puisse rester dans son pot actuel. Pour faciliter le drainage, placez une couche de sable grossier au fond du pot, voire même des cailloux pour les grosses plantes. Une fois le rempotage terminé, attendez une à deux semaines pour reprendre les arrosages, afin que les racines endommagées cicatrisent. Sinon, il y a risque de faire pourrir la plante.

Surveiller mon cactus

L'ennemi numéro un des cactées et plantes grasses est la pourriture liée à une trop grande humidité! N'oubliez donc pas de raisonner vos arrosages, et surtout de doter vos cactus d'un substrat bien drainant ! On trouve ensuite d'autres maladies cryptogamiques surtout du genre botrytis. N'hésitez pas à tailler les parties malades de la plante pour éviter la propagation de la maladie. Les cochenilles et autres acariens apprécient particulièrement les plantes grasses. Des pulvérisations à l'eau savonneuse auront raison d'une grande partie d'entre eux. Aussi, n'oubliez pas de désinfecter assez régulièrement votre matériel (pots, sécateurs,...) pour éviter les contaminations.

Rentrer mon cactus

Rentrez votre cactée bien avant les première nuits fraîches, idéalement dans une pièce pas trop chauffée pour qu'elle "ressente" tout de même l'hiver : une bonne période hivernale fraîche avec 5 à 10 °C la nuit sans lumière artificielle ! Vous cesserez tout arrosage jusqu'au printemps.

Sortir mon cactus

N'hésitez pas à sortir votre cactus pour l'été ! Si il a passé l'hiver un peu à l'ombre, évitez simplement de le placer directement en plein soleil, acclimatez le plus doucement... Vous le rentrerez dès la fin de l'été.

Multiplier mon cactus

Les cactées se multiplient très bien par bouturage. Découpez un tronçon proprement puis laissez-le sécher quelques semaines avant de le mettre en terre et le tour est joué ! Choisissez une tige assez tendre, ni trop âgée ni trop jeune et sans trace de maladie. Veiller aussi à ne pas rendre la plante mère inesthétique! Avec un couteau très bien aiguisé, sélectionnez un morceau de tige ou de feuille, au niveau d’une articulation. Laissez la bouture à l’air libre, dans un endroit chaud, pendant quelques jours pour que sa coupe sèche. Mettez la ensuite dans un pot en terre cuite, avec un mélange très léger composé d’un tiers de terreau de feuilles ou de tourbe et de deux tiers de sable. Arrosez et placez ensuite le pot dans une mini-serre, à une température de 15 à 18 °C, dans un endroit bien éclairé, en maintenant chaleur et humidité.

Crédit photo : ceasol