Ginkgo Biloba

A legendary tree ! Gingko is a species of ancient tree, whose individuals live for millennia, and some have even survived Hiroshima. they bear an incredibly beautiful golden yellow foliage in the fall.
Common name : Ginkgo Biloba
Scientific name : Ginkgo biloba
Family : Ginkgoaceae
Category : Trees
Type of plant : Perennial
Ginkgo biloba is a tree that reaches 25 meters in good condition. Its fan-shaped leaves are very characteristic, and they become an incredible golden yellow in autumn. This extremely ancient species is a botanical curiosity, with its individuals which may be male or female. The trees form ova or pollen, which fertilize once they have fallen to the ground :they do not bear fruit directly. Traditionally nursery men have banned female Ginkgo from their stalls because the ova are particularly malodorous - and sticky in autumn. NB the young Ginkgo take a very conical port, and they begin to widen after fifteen years ... It is therefore necessary to wait a long time before they take a majestic and wide port.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_4
Frost-resistance High
Zone USDA 7a
Height 1000 - 2500
pH 6 - 8

Identify my ginkgo biloba

Ginkgo biloba is a tree that reaches between 20 and 30 meters, and is considered panchronic. This means that it has kept characteristics from very ancient species. Among these features is primarily its reproduction. Ginkgos are dioecious, there are male and female individuals. Males produce pollen - yellow, while females release 2-3 cm eggs that gradually emit the smell of vomit. The Ginkgo forms a trunk that is smooth at first and gradually becomes vertically wrinkled. Its bark is gray brown. The leaves are grouped by 3 or 4, and are palm-shaped with two lobes.

Plant my ginkgo biloba

Plant your Ginkgo in drained, deep soil. Plant preferably in winter, in bare roots or in mound. Dig a hole deep enough, twice as large as the root ball, without mixing the layers of the soil. Plant a solid stake at the bottom of the hole, on the edge, inclined to the prevailing winds. Cut the root hair - the fine roots that looks like hair - to balance the volume of roots and foliage. Plant without burying the boundary between trunk and roots of the tree, putting the soil layers in the same order you removed them. Tamp the soil around the roots with your foot, so you do not leave a pocket of air, and attach the stake to the trunk with a suitable extensible link. Form a hollow in the soil and water abundantly until you fill it.

Prune my ginkgo biloba

For your Ginkgo in an isolated spot to form a beautiful trunk - not just a shaggy cone - you should remove the low branches gradually, at the end of winter.

Water my ginkgo biloba

Water regularly and generously for several weeks after planting. After, you only have to worry about watering in case of severe drought.

Mulch my ginkgo biloba

Mulch once in the first year in late spring, with dry leaves or crushed wood.

Unprop my ginkgo biloba

After two years, remove the stake, which has no use anymore and may damage the bark.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Ginkgo biloba

L'arbre des légendes... une espèce d'arbre très ancienne, dont les individus vivent des millénaires, et qui aurait repris après l'explosion à Hiroshima. Sinon, il forme aussi un incroyable feuillage jaune doré à l'automne.
Nom commun : Ginkgo biloba
Nom latin : Ginkgo biloba
Famille : Ginkgoacées
Catégorie : Arbre
Type de plante: Vivace
Le Ginkgo biloba est un arbre qui atteint bravement 25 mètres en situation favorable. Ses feuilles en éventail sont très caractéristiques, et elles deviennent d'un incroyable jaune doré en automne. Cette espèce extrêmement ancienne est une curiosité botanique, avec ses individus qui peuvent être mâles ou femelles. Les arbres forment des ovules ou du pollen, qui se fécondent une fois tombés au sol. Ils ne portent donc pas directement de fruits. Traditionnellement les pépiniéristes ont banni les Ginkgo femelles de leurs étals, car les ovules sont particulièrement malodorantes - et collantes en automne. N.B. les Ginkgo jeunes prennent un port très conique, et ils commencent à s'élargir au bout d'une quinzaine d'années... Il faut donc attendre longtemps avant de les voir prendre un port majestueux et large.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Granulométrie
Besoins en eau
Résistance au gel Très bonne
Zone USDA 7a
Hauteur à maturité 1000 - 2500
pH 6 - 8

Identifier mon ginkgo biloba

Le Ginkgo biloba est un arbre qui atteint entre 20 et 30 mètres, et est considéré comme panchronique. Cela signifie qu'il a gardé des caractéristiques d'espèces très anciennes. Parmi ces caractéristiques figure en premier lieu sa reproduction. Les Ginkgos sont dioïques, il existe des individus mâles et femelles. Les mâles produisent du pollen - de couleur jaune, tandis que les femelles libèrent des ovules de 2-3 cm qui dégagent progressivement une odeur de vomi. Le Ginkgo forme un tronc d'abord lisse qui devient progressivement ridé verticalement. Son écorce est grise brune. Les feuilles sont groupées par 3 ou 4, et sont en forme de palme à deux lobes.

Planter mon ginkgo biloba

Plantez votre Ginkgo en sol drainé, profond. Plantez en hiver, en racine nue ou en motte. Creusez un trou assez profond, deux fois plus grand que la motte, sans mélanger les couches du sol. Disposez un tuteur au fond du trou, sur le bord. Si le pépiniériste ne l'a pas fait, taillez les branches de manières à garder une "flèche", c'est à dire à avoir la branche la plus haute bien verticale. Taillez le chevelu racinaire pour équilibrer le volume des racines et du feuillage. Plantez sans enterrer le collet de l'arbre, en remettant les couches de terre dans l'ordre. Tassez la terre autour des racines avec le pied au fur et à mesure pour ne pas laisser de poche d'air, formez une cuvette pour l'arrosage et arrosez abondamment. Fixez le tuteur au tronc.

Tailler mon ginkgo biloba

Pour que votre Ginkgo en isolé forme un beau tronc - pas simplement un cône hirsute - enlevez les branches basses progressivement, en fin d'hiver.

Arroser mon ginkgo biloba

Arrosez très régulièrement et copieusement pendant quelques semaines après la plantation. Après, vous n'aurez plus à vous en soucier, sauf en cas de grosse sécheresse... mais le Ginkgo a survécu à Hiroshima, il a de la ressource.

Pailler mon ginkgo biloba

Paillez un fois la première année en fin de printemps, avec des feuilles sèches ou du bois broyé.

Détuteurer mon ginkgo biloba

Après deux ans, pensez à retirer le tuteur, qui ne sert plus à rien et abîme l'écorce.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes