Mahonia

Mahogany is a kind of shrub that blooms abundantly in the winter with shinny leaves - even colored for some species. What more ? They smell good!
Common name : Mahonia
Scientific name : Mahonia spp.
Family : Berberidaceae
Category : Shrubs
Type of plant : Perennial
The mahonias are persistent shrubs of which one can cross one of the species in the forests, Mahonia aquifolia. They are therefore well suited to temperate climates and moderately harsh winters. The mahonias bear thorny leaflets that resemble those of holly. In fact, they are alternate leaves with pinnate leaflets, which reach 50 centimeters in length. The mahonias bloom during the winter in candles of yellow flowers very fragrant. Depending on the species, these shrubs reach 0.6 to 3 meters, are more or less floriferous, and its more or less sensitive to frost. Fertilization of mahonias is possible on small-scale species.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulométrie plants.granulometry_4
Frost-resistance High
Zone USDA 7a
Height 60 - 300
pH 6 - 8

Plant my mahonia

Mahonias are undergrowth shrubs, so they prefer this type of situation. Plant from late autumn to early spring, in shade or partial shade, in drained soil. Make a hole twice as large as the root ball, without mixing the layers of soil - you will put them back in order at planting. Put back some of the earth from the bottom, and place your mahonia at the right depth. Do not bury the base of the trunks, and fill with the rest of the soil while tamping regularly around the roots. Form a "bowl" of earth around the plant and water until the water no longer flows visibly. In a tank, choose a small-growing species and plant in a mix of loam and compost on a bed of gravel.

Water my mahonia

Water thoroughly for the first few weeks after planting! Afterwards, you can space out watering to once a month. In following years, cease watering. This plant is indigenous and adapted to temperate climates.

Mulch my mahonia

Mulch in November each year with deciduous wood chips to protect the soil — especially for the first few years — and limit the need for weeding.

Prune my mahonia

The trimming of mahonias must be light, it is only intended to lighten them slightly. It should be done after flowering, as early as March. In the early years, trim the tips of stems to force them to branch - and densify the shrub. Then, once your mahonia adult, conversely you will only trim the branches that overlap, those that are damaged, and possibly dry flowers.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Mahonia

Le mahonia est un genre d'arbustes qui fleurissent abondamment l'hiver et gardent des feuilles brillantes - piquantes - et colorées pour certaines espèces. Que demander de plus ? Ils sentent bon !
Nom commun : Mahonia
Nom latin : Mahonia spp.
Famille : Berberidacées
Catégorie : Arbuste
Type de plante: Vivace
Les mahonias sont des arbustes persistants dont on peut croiser une des espèces dans les forêts, Mahonia aquifolia. Ils sont donc bien adaptés aux climats tempérés et aux hivers moyennement rudes. Les mahonias portent des folioles épineuses qui ressemblent beaucoup à celles du houx. En fait, ce sont des feuilles composées alternes à folioles pennées, qui atteignent 50 centimètres de longueur. Les mahonias fleurissent durant l'hiver en chandelles de fleurs jaunes très parfumées. Suivant les espèces, ces arbustes atteignent de 0,6 à 3 mètres, sont plus ou moins florifères, et sont plus ou moins sensibles au gel. La culture en bac des mahonias est possible sur les espèces à petit développement.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Granulométrie
Besoins en eau
Résistance au gel Très bonne
Zone USDA 7a
Hauteur à maturité 60 - 300
pH 6 - 8

Planter mon mahonia

Les mahonias sont des arbustes de sous-bois, donc ils préfèrent ce type de situation. Plantez de la fin de l'automne au début du printemps, à l'ombre ou à mi-ombre, dans un sol drainé. Faites un trou deux fois plus grand que la motte, sans mélanger les couches du sol - vous les remettrez dans l'ordre à la plantation. Remettez une partie de la terre du fond, et disposez votre mahonia à la bonne profondeur. N'enterrez pas le collet de la plante, replacez la terre tassez bien la terre autour des racines au fur et à mesure. Formez une cuvette et arrosez jusqu'à ce que l'eau ne s'écoule plus visiblement. En bac, choisissez une espèce à petit développement et plantez dans un mélange de terre franche et de compost sur un lit de graviers.

Arroser mon mahonia

Arrosez copieusement les premières semaines après la plantation ! Ensuite vous pourrez espacer cette fréquence à une fois par mois. Les années suivantes, plus d'arrosage, c'est une plante indigène adaptée au climat tempéré.

Pailler mon mahonia

Paillez en novembre chaque année avec du broyat d'arbres caducs pour garder la terre à l'abri - surtout les premières années - et limiter le désherbage.

Tailler mon mahonia

La taille des mahonias doit être légère, elle ne vise qu'à les éclaircir légèrement. Elle se fait toujours après la floraison, dès mars. Les premières années, taillez l'extrémité de tiges pour les forcer à se ramifier - et densifier l'arbuste. Ensuite, une fois votre mahonia adulte, à l'inverse vous taillerez seulement les rameaux qui se chevauchent, ceux qui sont abîmés, et éventuellement les inflorescences sèches.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes