Patchouli

A strong-scented cousin of the mint.
Common name : Patchouli
Scientific name : Pogostemon cablin
Family : Lamiaceae
Category : Perennials
Type of plant : Perennial
Easy peasy
Easy peasy
Minimal water
Minimal water
Flowery
Flowery
Indoor
Indoor
Frost resistant
Frost resistant
Small pots
Small pots
Pogostemon cablin - Patchouli - is a species of plant in the family Lamiaceae native to tropical regions of Asia. It is a bushy plant with erect stems reaching around 75 centimetres (2.5 ft) in height and bearing small, pale pink-white flowers. Patchouli should be treated as a very tender perennial or an annual, and better grown as a houseplant in cold regions. It thrives in hot weather but not direct sunlight.

Sowing & planting

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Flowering

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caracteristics

Exposition
Water needs
Granulom├ętrie plants.granulometry_3
Frost-resistance High
Zone USDA 5a
Height 60 - 100
pH 6 - 7

Identify my patchouli

Easy, if you rub the leaves and he smells like patchouli, it's him! Otherwise, it resembles a perennial branched shrub with alternating thick toothed leaves and reddish hairy stems.

Plant my patchouli

Your patchouli can reach 60 cm in all directions, so plan for space, such as a pot of 40 cm in diameter for example. Our advice is to plant it in a pot that you can shelter from the winter cold. Before planting, open the root ball a bit to break the outer roots that form circles. If the root ball has dried, baste it for 30 minutes. Fill the pot halfway with compost or ordinary compost, arrange your plant, and fill the tray to the level of the collar of your patchouli. Tamp well, then water copiously. Place the pot in the light, warm. Small advice to make your patchouli more elegant: puta layer of mulching. You can plant your patchouli in the open soil, but in this case it will be necessary to put it back in pot to shelter it in the winter - except if you are in a region where it never freezes. Plant it in semi shade or in direct sunlight, in ordinary soil, like in pots.

Water my patchouli

In pots, water copiously once or twice a week during growth, and less often in winter. In open soil, water during the summer period without excess, once a week if it is very dry, rather in the morning, sparing the leaves.

Shelter my patchouli

Patchouli freezes at -5 ┬░ C, so shelter it in a room where it does not freeze.

Put outside my patchouli

The warm days come back? You can place your patchouli outside after May 15 in the north, earlier in the afternoon. Place it in a sunny spot. If you plant it in open soil, consider giving it some compost at the plantation!

Repot my patchouli

After two years your patchouli is cramped in its pot, so take it out, remove some of the soil by scraping the roots and replace it with new compost or potting soil. If you have a bigger pot, install it in, it will be more comfortable.

Fertilize my patchouli

If potted, add a little compost on the top of the soil every year.

Groww, the plant identification and gardening app

Patchouli

Vivace tropicale à l'odeur d'appartement de grand mère si caractéristique !
Nom commun : Patchouli
Nom latin : Pogostemon cablin
Famille : Lamiacées
Catégorie : Vivace
Débutant
Débutant
Sobre
Sobre
Fleurie
Fleurie
Intérieur
Intérieur
Rustique
Rustique
Petit pot
Petit pot
Le patchouli est vivace, mais d'origine indonésienne il craint le froid, donc mieux vaudra l'abriter en hiver. Réservez lui un endroit bien ensoleillé et il atteindra facilement 60 cm en tout sens.

Semis / Plantation

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Floraison

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Caractéristiques

Exposition
Granulométrie
Besoins en eau
Résistance au gel Très bonne
Zone USDA 5a
Hauteur à maturité 60 - 100
pH 6 - 7

Identifier mon patchouli

Facile, si vous frottez les feuilles et qu'il sent le patchouli, c'est lui ! Sinon, il ressemble à une vivace au port arbustif ramifié, avec des feuilles dentées épaisses alternes et des tiges rougeâtres velues.

Planter mon patchouli

Votre patchouli pourra atteindre 60 cm en tous sens, donc prévoyez-lui de la place, comme un pot de 40 cm de diamètre par exemple. Notre conseil est de le planter dans en pot que vous pourrez abriter du froid hivernal. Avant de planter, ouvrez un peu la motte pour briser les racines extérieures qui forment des cercles. Si la motte a séché, bassinez-la 30 minutes. Emplissez le pot à moitié de terreau ou de compost ordinaire, disposez votre plant, puis emplissez le bac jusqu'au niveau du collet de votre patchouli. Tassez-bien, puis arrosez copieusement. Placez le pot à la lumière, au chaud. Le petit plus pour rendre votre patchouli plus élégant : mettez un peu de paillage de bois en surface autour du pied. Vous pouvez planter en pleine terre votre patchouli, mais dans ce cas il faudra le mettre en pot pour l'abriter l'hiver - sauf si vous êtes dans une région où il ne gèle jamais. Plantez-le à mi-ombre ou en plein soleil, dans un sol ordinaire, de la même manière qu'en pot.

Arroser mon patchouli

En pot, arrosez copieusement une ou deux fois par semaine en période de croissance, et moins souvent en hiver. En pleine terre, arrosez durant la période estivale mais sans excès, une fois par semaine s'il fait très sec, plutôt le matin et en épargnant les feuilles.

Rentrer mon patchouli

Le patchouli gèle à -5°C, donc abritez-le dans une pièce où il ne gèle pas.

Sortir mon patchouli

Les beaux jours sont de retour, vous pouvez sortir votre patchouli après le 15 mai dans le nord, plus tôt dans le midi. Placez-le au soleil. Si vous le replantez en pleine terre, pensez à lui redonner un peu de compost à la plantation !

Rempoter mon patchouli

Au bout de deux ans votre patchouli est à l'étroit dans son pot, donc sortez-le, enlevez une partie de la terre en grattant les racines et remplacez-la par du compost ou du terreau tout neuf. Si vous avez un plus grand pot, installez-le dedans il sera plus à l'aise.

Fertiliser mon patchouli

En pot, tous les ans remettez un peu de compost en surface.

Groww, l'application de jardinage et de reconnaissance des plantes